8 Most-Anticipated YA Books Coming in August 2020

8 Most-Anticipated YA Books Coming in August 2020

All the changes this past spring with lock-downs and social distancing and online learning threw me for a loop. It also delayed a lot of the books I’d been looking forward to reading, which meant I spent the summer scrambling to catch up on the ARCs that publishers had sent me. I’m finally seeing a light at the end of the reading tunnel so to speak, and I wanted to pause and share some of the young adult books I’m most excited about that come out this month.

I’m always up for fantasy, so there are a few of those on here. Lately, though, I’ve been a big fan of rom-com, so I’ve included a couple of those that I’m very eager to escape into. Check out the list and let me know which are on your reading list. Better still, use the buy links and order a couple now so you have a pick-me-up waiting for you in the mailbox.

Note: Amazon, Book Depository, and Indiebound links are affiliate links which help support this blog but don’t cost you anything extra to use.

Most-Anticipated YA Books Coming in August 2020

Midnight Sun by Stephenie Meyer

Midnight Sun (Twilight #4) by Stephenie Meyer

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Hades and Persephone inspired story that tells of Edward and Bella’s meeting from his perspective.

I’ve read the other books in the Twilight series, and I remember hearing that Meyer was writing this one. It feels big, because the series was so big, and maybe because right now, we’re longing for the lives we had pre-pandemic? Whatever the case, I’m anticipating a LOT of bookish chat about this book this month.

Available August 4, 2020


Lobizona by Romina Garber

Lobizona by Romina Garber

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Follows the story of an undocumented immigrant who is part of a special community of people who are witches and werewolves.

I’ve already read this one, and I loved it so much. Definitely a great escapist story that will make you walk in the shoes of an undocumented girl in a way you’re unlikely to ever forget.

Available August 4, 2020 | My Review


Bookish and the Beast by Ashley Poston

Bookish and the Beast by Ashley Poston

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Poston gives us her retelling of Beauty and the Beast as a tribute to her favorite versions of the story and a funny, sweet reimagined tale in its own right.

Loads of fun, and another dip into the Starfield world.

Available August 4, 2020 | My Review


Set Fire to the Gods by Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons

Set Fire to the Gods by Sara Raasch and Kristen Simmons

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: SNOW LIKE ASHES trilogy and METALTOWN authors team up to deliver a fast-paced, high-stakes story about a rebel leader and magic-hiding fighter who reignite an ancient war between the gods.

I really liked SNOW LIKE ASHES, so I’m anxious to check this one out.

Available August 4, 2020


Star Daughter  by Shveta Thakrar

Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Hindu mythology plus STARDUST by Neil Gaiman. Hailed as perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Roshani Chokshi.

I am really excited to read this book. I’m a huge fan of Laini Taylor and Roshani Chokshi, so I was pretty much hooked once I heard the comparison to their books.

Available August 11, 2020


Don't Ask Me Where I'm From by Jennifer De Leon

Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From by Jennifer De Leon

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Racial tension. Family secrets. #Ownvoices story about a Latinx girl.

Available August 18, 2020


Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend (Kingdom of Cards #1) by Janella Angeles

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Magicians compete in a high-stakes tournament to be the headliner at the Conquering Circus.

Seems a bit like a darker GIRL ON WIRE or something along the lines of CARAVAL maybe? I’m super interested in this one.

Available August 25, 2020 | My Review


Now I've Found You by Kristina Forest

Now That I’ve Found You by Kristina Forest

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Fabulous rom-com, an eccentric grandma, and a race across New York City. This sounds like the perfect pandemic-escape read!

Available August 25, 2020

What are your most anticipated August 2020 books?

Which books coming this month are on your reading list? Have you ordered any of them yet?

I’m toying with the idea of pre-ordering a book or two each month so that I have a surprise in the mail to look forward to. STAR DAUGHTER and NOW THAT I’VE FOUND YOU are at the top of my pre-order wish list!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge