About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Review: The Beast by Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs

The Beast by Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs

The Beast (Darkdeep #2)
Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs
Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Published September 24, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Beast

Nico, Opal, Tyler, Emma, and Logan survived their worst fears come to life, and saved their tiny Pacific Northwest town of Timbers from a monstrous figment invasion. Now they just want to keep their heads down, enjoy Halloween, and explore the secrets of their mysterious houseboat clubhouse. And also figure out their new Torchbearer responsibilities as keepers … Continue reading

Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been … Continue reading

Review: Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite

Dear Haiti, Love Alaine
Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite
Inkyard Press
September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Dear Haiti, Love Alaine

Co-written by sisters Maika and Maritza Moulite, and told in epistolary style through letters, articles, emails, and diary entries, this exceptional debut novel captures a sparkling new voice and irrepressible heroine in a celebration of storytelling sure to thrill fans of Nicola Yoon, Ibi Zoboi and Jenna Evans Welch!

When a school presentation goes very wrong, Alaine Beauparlant finds herself suspended, shipped off to Haiti and writing the report of a lifetime…

You might ask … Continue reading

Review: The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young

The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young

The Girl the Sea Gave Back
Adrienne Young
Wednesday Books
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Girl the Sea Gave Back

The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of SKY IN THE DEEP.

For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are … Continue reading

Review: Last of Her Name by Jessica Khoury

Last of Her Name
Jessica Khoury
Scholastic Press
Published February 26, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Last of Her Name

Sixteen years ago, rebellion swept the galaxy known as the Belt of Jewels. Every member of the royal family was murdered–down to their youngest child, Princess Anya–and the Union government rose in its place. But Stacia doesn’t think much about politics. She spends her days half-wild, rambling her father’s vineyard with her closest friends, Clio and Pol.

That all changes the day a Union ship appears … Continue reading

Review: Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore by Birgitte Märgen

Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore

Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore
Birgitte Märgen
Published January 4, 2019

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore

Girl, Interrupted meets Pan’s Labyrinth

A trailer park Alice. A hole that traps souls. The white rabbit’s a tricky hare. And the world is upside down. This fairy tale just got twisty . . . 

Rule One: Don’t eat or drink. Rule Two: Never, ever tell anyone your name. If ya do – your soul will be lost there forever.

How do I know? I been there myself. This is my story.

There … Continue reading

Review: The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris

The Truths We Hold by Kamala Harris

The Truths We Hold
Kamala Harris
Penguin Press
January 8, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Book Depository

About THE TRUTHS WE HOLD

Senator Kamala Harris’s commitment to speaking truth is informed by her upbringing. The daughter of immigrants, she was raised in an Oakland, California community that cared deeply about social justice; her parents–an esteemed economist from Jamaica and an admired cancer researcher from India–met as activists in the civil rights movement when they were graduate students at Berkeley.

Growing up, … Continue reading

Review: Them by Ben Sasse

Them by Ben Sasse shows a white cover torn down the middle with a small American flag at the center.

Them: Why We Hate Each Other and How to Heal
Ben Sasse
St. Martin’s Press
October 16, 2018

Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository

About THEM

Something is wrong. We all know it.

American life expectancy is declining for a third straight year. Birth rates are dropping. Nearly half of us think the other political party isn’t just wrong; they’re evil. We’re the richest country in history, but we’ve never been more pessimistic. What’s causing the despair?

In Them, bestselling author and U.S. Senator Ben Sasse argues … Continue reading

Review: Have a Little Faith in Me by Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith In Me by Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith in Me
Sonia Hartl
Page Street Kids
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Have a Little Faith in Me

“Saved!” meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that takes a meaningful look at consent and what it means to give it.

When CeCe’s born-again ex-boyfriend dumps her after they have sex, she follows him to Jesus camp in order to win him back. Problem: She knows nothing about Jesus. … Continue reading

Review: Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine

Sword and Pen (Great Library #5)
Rachel Caine
Berkley Books
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Sword and Pen

With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the unforgettable characters from Ink and Bone must decide if it’s worth saving in this thrilling adventure in the New York Times bestselling series.

The corrupt leadership of the Great Library has fallen. But with the Archivist plotting his return to power, and the Library under siege from outside empires and … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...