Review: The Dark Lord Clementine by Sarah Jean Horwitz

The Dark Lord Clementine by Sarah Jean Horwitz

The Dark Lord Clementine
Sarah Jean Horwitz
Algonquin Young Readers
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Dark Lord Clementine

The new face of big evil is a little . . . small.

Dastardly deeds aren’t exactly the first things that come to mind when one hears the name “Clementine,” but as the sole heir of the infamous Dark Lord Elithor, twelve-year-old Clementine Morcerous has been groomed since birth to be the best … Continue reading

Review and Blog Tour: Naked Mole Rat Saves the World by Karen Rivers

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World by Karen Rivers

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
Karen Rivers
Algonquin Young Readers
Available October 15, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Naked Mole Rat Saves the World

Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world?

Kit-with-a-small-k is navigating middle school with a really big, really strange secret: When she’s stressed, she turns into a naked mole rat.

It first happened after kit watched her best friend, Clem, fall and get hurt during an acrobatic performance on TV. Since then, the transformations keep … Continue reading

Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been … Continue reading

Review: Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore by Birgitte Märgen

Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore

Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore
Birgitte Märgen
Published January 4, 2019

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Evie and the Upside Down World of Nevermore

Girl, Interrupted meets Pan’s Labyrinth

A trailer park Alice. A hole that traps souls. The white rabbit’s a tricky hare. And the world is upside down. This fairy tale just got twisty . . . 

Rule One: Don’t eat or drink. Rule Two: Never, ever tell anyone your name. If ya do – your soul will be lost there forever.

How do I know? I been there myself. This is my story.

There … Continue reading

Review: Some Places More than Others by Renée Watson

Some Places More than Others by Renee Watson

Some Places More than Others
Renée Watson
Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Some Places More Than Others

Newbery Honor author Renée Watson explores a family’s relationships and Harlem—its history, culture, arts, and people.

All Amara wants is to visit her father’s family in Harlem. Her wish comes true when her dad decides to bring her along on a business trip. She can’t wait to finally meet her extended family and stay in the brownstone … Continue reading

Review and Blog Tour: The Very, Very Far North by Dan Bar-El

The Very, Very Far North by Dan Bar-El

The Very, Very Far North
Dan Bar-El
Atheneum
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Very, Very Far North

An inquisitive polar bear named Duane befriends an array of animals as he discovers where he belongs in this charming classic-in-the making that’s reminiscent of Winnie the Pooh.

In the Very, Very Far North, past the Cold, Cold Ocean and just below the hill that looks like a baby whale, you’ll find Duane and his friends.

Duane is … Continue reading

Review: The Gamer’s Guide to Getting the Girl by Kristine Scarrow

The Gamer's Guide to Getting the Girl cover shows a small boy figure and a girl figure with a line drawn between them that weaves between the title letters. Everything is in blocky, video game graphics.

The Gamer’s Guide to Getting the Girl
Kristine Scarrow
Dundurn Press
Published July 16, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

Strategy is everything when it comes to gaming — and girls.

Zach is used to living in a world of legendary battles, epic journeys, and life-or-death situations. As a gamer, he is hard-wired for adventure, even though it’s from the comfort of his parents’ … Continue reading

Review: The Queen’s Secret by Jessica Day George

The Queen's Secret by Jessica Day George cover shows a girl on horseback fleeing a castle, a second rider behind her.

The Queen’s Secret (Rose Legacy #2)
Jessica Day George
Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Published May 14, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About THE QUEEN’S SECRET

Bestselling author Jessica Day George continues her heartfelt fantasy series about a girl who can communicate with horses and a kingdom on the brink of collapse.

Anthea knows the truth about horses. They’re not carriers of deadly disease like everyone in their kingdom thinks; they’re majestic creatures who share their thoughts and feelings … Continue reading

Review: Hurricane Season by Nicole Melleby

Hurricane Season by Nicole Melleby

Hurricane Season
Nicole Melleby
Algonquin Young Readers
Available May 7, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About HURRICANE SEASON

Fig, a sixth grader, wants more than anything to see the world as her father does. The once-renowned pianist, who hasn’t composed a song in years and has unpredictable good and bad days, is something of a mystery to Fig. Though she’s a science and math nerd, she tries taking an art class just to be closer to him, to experience life the way an artist does. But then Fig’s dad shows up at school, disoriented and desperately searching … Continue reading

Review: The Girls of Firefly Cabin by Cynthia Ellingsen

The Girls of Firefly Cabin by Cynthia Ellingsen

The Girls of Firefly Cabin
Cynthia Ellingsen
Albert Whitman & Company
Available May 28, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About THE GIRLS OF FIREFLY CABIN

Lauren, Isla, Jade, and Archer meet the first day of summer camp, and friendship magic is made in Firefly Cabin. If only they could immortalize their summer memories by winning the contest to be the face of the camp’s website. But it won’t be easy; not with rival cabins, distracting crushes, and of course, the girl’s own secrets getting in the way. Can friendship—and the Fireflies—triumph over all?

Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...