Review and Blog Tour: Naked Mole Rat Saves the World by Karen Rivers

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World by Karen Rivers

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
Karen Rivers
Algonquin Young Readers
Available October 15, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Naked Mole Rat Saves the World

Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world?

Kit-with-a-small-k is navigating middle school with a really big, really strange secret: When she’s stressed, she turns into a naked mole rat.

It first happened after kit watched her best friend, Clem, fall and get hurt during an acrobatic performance on TV. Since then, the transformations keep … Continue reading

Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been … Continue reading

Review: Dear Haiti, Love Alaine by Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite

Dear Haiti, Love Alaine
Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite
Inkyard Press
September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Dear Haiti, Love Alaine

Co-written by sisters Maika and Maritza Moulite, and told in epistolary style through letters, articles, emails, and diary entries, this exceptional debut novel captures a sparkling new voice and irrepressible heroine in a celebration of storytelling sure to thrill fans of Nicola Yoon, Ibi Zoboi and Jenna Evans Welch!

When a school presentation goes very wrong, Alaine Beauparlant finds herself suspended, shipped off to Haiti and writing the report of a lifetime…

You might ask … Continue reading

Review: Have a Little Faith in Me by Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith In Me by Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith in Me
Sonia Hartl
Page Street Kids
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Have a Little Faith in Me

“Saved!” meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that takes a meaningful look at consent and what it means to give it.

When CeCe’s born-again ex-boyfriend dumps her after they have sex, she follows him to Jesus camp in order to win him back. Problem: She knows nothing about Jesus. … Continue reading

Review: Some Places More than Others by Renée Watson

Some Places More than Others by Renee Watson

Some Places More than Others
Renée Watson
Bloomsbury Children’s Books
Published September 3, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Some Places More Than Others

Newbery Honor author Renée Watson explores a family’s relationships and Harlem—its history, culture, arts, and people.

All Amara wants is to visit her father’s family in Harlem. Her wish comes true when her dad decides to bring her along on a business trip. She can’t wait to finally meet her extended family and stay in the brownstone … Continue reading

Review: The Silence Between Us by Alison Gervais

The Silence Between Us by Alison Gervais

The Silence Between Us
Alison Gervais
Blink YA
Published August 6, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Silence Between Us

Moving halfway across the country to Colorado right before senior year isn’t Maya’s idea of a good time. Leaving behind Pratt School for the Deaf where she’s been a student for years only to attend a hearing school is even worse. Maya has dreams of breaking into the medical field and is determined to get the grades and a college … Continue reading

Review: Tell Me Everything by Sarah Enni

Tell Me Everything by Sarah Enni

Tell Me Everything
Sarah Enni
Point
February 26, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Tell Me Everything

YOUR SECRET’S SAFE … UNTIL IT’S NOT

Ivy is the shy artist type and keeps a low profile—so low that she’s practically invisible to everyone at Belfry High School except for her best friend, Harold. As sophomore year begins, Harold takes up a hundred activities, leaving Ivy on her own. Luckily she’s found a distraction: the new anonymous art-sharing app, VEIL.

Soon Ivy realizes that … Continue reading

Review: Start Here by Trish Doller

Start Here by Trish Doller shows a pile of polaroid photos of a sailing trip and one of two girls.

Start Here
Trish Doller
Simon Pulse
Published August 13, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Start Here

Two teens go on a life-changing sailing trip as they deal with the grief of losing their best friend in this heartwrenching, hopeful novel from the author of Something Like Normal and In a Perfect World.

Willa and Taylor were supposed to spend the summer after high school sailing from Ohio to Key West with their best friend, Finley. But Finley died before graduation, leaving … Continue reading

Review: The Gamer’s Guide to Getting the Girl by Kristine Scarrow

The Gamer's Guide to Getting the Girl cover shows a small boy figure and a girl figure with a line drawn between them that weaves between the title letters. Everything is in blocky, video game graphics.

The Gamer’s Guide to Getting the Girl
Kristine Scarrow
Dundurn Press
Published July 16, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

Strategy is everything when it comes to gaming — and girls.

Zach is used to living in a world of legendary battles, epic journeys, and life-or-death situations. As a gamer, he is hard-wired for adventure, even though it’s from the comfort of his parents’ … Continue reading

Review: Impossible Music by Sean Williams

Impossible Music by Sean Williams cover shows a silhouette of a boy with an ear bud cord wrapped around his face and wrists.

Impossible Music
Sean Williams
Clarion Books
Published July 2, 2019

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About IMPOSSIBLE MUSIC

Before the stroke that left him deaf, music was Simon’s life. Now, his band breaks up and even his future college career studying musical composition is in jeopardy. How can a deaf student study music?

The only bright spot in all of it is a fierce girl Simon meets at Auslan class, where he learns sign language to communicate. G seems just as angry to … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...