Review: The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao

The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao

The Dragon Warrior
Katie Zhao
Bloomsbury USA Kids
Published October 15, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Dragon Warrior

As a member of the Jade Society, twelve-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warrior. But the Society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago, forcing them to train in secret.

Then, during an errand into San Francisco, Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon–and helps defeat it. She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker, a powerful warrior meant to work for the all-mighty deity, the Jade Emperor, by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons. That is, if she can prove her worth and find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year.

With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side, Faryn sets off on a daring quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require more sacrifices than she first realized . . . What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny?

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy, full of humor, magic, and heart, will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

The Art of Being Normal on Goodreads

My Review

This book was such a fun adventure. It reminded me a lot of the books by Rick Riordan, only instead of meeting Greek or Egyptian gods and goddesses, the characters in THE DRAGON WARRIOR meet Chinese gods and goddesses.

I found myself wishing the book had a glossary list of each god and goddess with a couple sentences about them (note: I read a pre-release version, so it may be that the finished copy has this). For the most part I was able to follow them in the story and keep them all straight, but I’m not as familiar with the mythology as I am with Greek mythology.

On the whole, I think readers who enjoy books like A WRINKLE IN TIME or THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL will enjoy this fast-paced adventure.

The Art of Being Normal on Amazon

Content Notes

Recommended for Ages 10 up.

Representation
Main Characters are Chinese American.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
None.

Romance/Sexual Content
None.

Spiritual Content
Faryn is part of a group of warriors who train to defeat demons, which appear on earth to cause mischief. She begins to encounter not only demons and dragons but other gods and goddesses who seek to either help or thwart her mission.

Violent Content
Battle scenes and situations of peril. No gore.

Drug Content
None.

Note: This post contains affiliate links, which do not cost you anything to use, but which help support the costs of running this blog. I received a free copy of THE DRAGON WARRIOR in exchange for my honest review.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge