Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa GreyThe Girl at Midnight
Melissa Grey
Delacorte Press

For most of her childhood, Echo, a homeless human girl, has lived with the Avicen, a human-like people with feathers instead of hair. When she learns of an ancient prophecy that could stop the war between her adopted people and the dragon-like Drakharin, she sees an opportunity not only to help those she loves but to cement her place among them as a hero.

Caius, the Drakharin Dragon Prince, also knows of the prophecy and seeks its fruition. When his search entangles him with the strange human girl, there’s really only one choice: work together to solve the puzzle and find the firebird. Even if doing so destroys his place among his people.

I absolutely devoured this book. I loved the descriptions of the Avicen and their feathers, though I felt like the Drakharin deserved a little more in the way of interesting comparative descriptions. I liked the feel of these strong racial divides being crossed for the first time in the uneasy alliances between characters. There’s a lot of snarky dialogue that keeps the emotionally intense scenes from becoming melodramatic. I was a little disappointed in the climax – there’s a big scene change at kind of an awkward moment that left me wanting a recap that I never really got. Despite that, the ending was very satisfying.

Aside from that, though, the characters and plot made this well-worth the experience. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Laini Taylor will definitely want to read this novel.

Language Content
Mild profanity used infrequently.

Sexual Content
Echo offers herself to a would-be lover, but is gently refused. Caius remembers times shared with Rose. His memories often involve being in bed or wrapped in sheets, but nothing further is discussed. Dorian, the captain of the guard who serves the Dragon Prince, harbors deeper affection for Caius than is appropriate for his post. Caius remains unaware of his feelings, but another man notices and attempts to steal his heart. There’s a brief kiss from one to the other’s hand and some obvious desire.

Spiritual Content
An oracle reveals what Caius and Echo must do.

Violence
Tanith uses her fire gift to burn her enemies. She also assassinates other Drakharin who happen to stand between herself and her goals.

Drug Content
None.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge