Review: The Girl with the Dragon Heart by Stephanie Burgis

The Girl with the Dragon Heart by Stephanie BurgisThe Girl with the Dragon Heart
Stephanie Burgis
Bloomsbury
Published on August 9, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About The Girl with the Dragon Heart
Once upon a time, in a beautiful city famous for chocolate and protected by dragons, there was a girl so fearless that she dared to try to tell the greatest story of all: the truth.

Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that just years after arriving as a penniless orphan, she has found her way up to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city (oh, and becoming best friends with a dragon). Now her gift for weaving words has caught the eye of the royal family, who want to use her as a spy when the mysterious and dangerous fairy royal family announce they will visit the city. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies …

My Review
I enjoyed reading the first book in this series, The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart, so as soon as I heard about the second book, I knew I had to read it. I was even more excited to learn it’s Silke’s story. She was one of my favorite characters in the first book as Aventurine’s best friend, the creative and spunky storyteller. She reminds me of a friend, so I couldn’t help loving her from the first page.

Silke has always depended on her stories to get her out of trouble, and for the most part, they’ve worked. She’s always able to distract people or shift attention with wild tales and entertaining bits. She keeps her guard up, not allowing herself to get close to anyone or depend on anything in case she loses them the way she lost her parents. I loved how complex and tender she is.

The Girl with the Dragon Heart also has some sibling themes. Silke has some run-ins with the royal family, specifically the crown princess and her younger sister, who don’t seem to see eye to eye on anything. She rolls her eyes at their shenanigans, but watching those girls helps her begin to evaluate what went wrong in her relationship with her brother, Dieter.

Honestly, I loved this book so much. I liked the first book and thought it was a lot of fun to read, but this one absolutely leaped into my heart. The writing is peppy and smart. I think it’s my favorite of the two by Stephanie Burgis. Will there be more to this series? I hope so! I would read them for sure.

The book’s description says it’s perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Cornelia Funke, and I say yes to that! I definitely see the comparison, and it held true for me, since I like both those other authors, too.

The Girl with the Dragon Heart on AmazonRecommended for Ages 12 up.

Cultural Elements
Silke has brown skin and dark curly hair. The princes have one white parent and one black parent.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
None.

Romance/Sexual Content
None.

Spiritual Content
Fairies use magic to attack others. A girl shapeshifts into a dragon.

Violent Content
Some instances of peril. Silke has traumatic memories of her parents being kidnapped by fairies. She finds two adults unconscious and feels responsible for what’s happened to them.

Drug Content
None.

The Girl with the Dragon Heart on Goodreads

Note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

Kasey is a mother, reader and aspiring author. When she's not reading or writing, you might find her out on the water fly fishing, pretending she can keep houseplants alive, or talking with the family rescue cat.

One Response to Review: The Girl with the Dragon Heart by Stephanie Burgis

  1. Colleen Phillips says:

    Awwwww. I hope they make it available in my digital library. I love these kinds of books. As you well know!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge