Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete, like there’s a part of herself that she can’t know until she knows her dad.

But what will happen—to Lola, to Momma, to their team of two—if she finds him?

The Other Better Me on Goodreads

My Review

This was such an enjoyable book to read. I laughed and teared up and loved every minute of Lola’s story. The way she pieced together things happening around her, from things like brunch meaning a meal you make when you’re feeling lazy and planning to use a lot of dishes to her empathy and understanding toward a prickly classmate, made me fall totally in love with THE OTHER BETTER ME.

I love the community elements in the story. Lola feels like her family is just herself and her mom, but all the way through the book, she’s surrounded by friends and mentors. All have their own baggage or issues, but they all care for Lola and her mom, too. I love when a book creates a believable, tight-knit community like this.

Fans of WONDER by R. J. Palacio or JUST MY LUCK by Cammie McGovern will love the emphasis on kindness and community as well as the bold, upbeat writing and precocious narrator. This one is a must-read.

The Other Better Me on Amazon

Content Notes

Recommended for Ages 8 to 12.

Representation
Very little character description.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
None.

Romance/Sexual Content
None.

Spiritual Content
None.

Violent Content
None.

Drug Content
None.

Note: This post contains affiliate links, which do not cost you anything to use, but which help support the costs of running this blog. I received a free copy of THE OTHER BETTER ME in exchange for my honest review.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge