Review: Unbreakable by Sara Ella

Unbreakable by Sara EllaUnbreakable (Unblemished #3)
Sara Ella
Thomas Nelson – HarperCollins
Published May 1, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About Unbreakable
Eliyana Ember is stranded in a foreign country in the Third Reflection with no passport, the inability to mirrorwalk, and zero clue where the nearest Thresholds back into the Fourth or Second might lie. Her mind is a haze, her memories vague. She knows a wormhole from the Fourth sent her here. She remembers her mom and baby brother Evan. Makai and Stormy and Joshua . . .

Deep down El realizes she must end the Void once and for all. Is there a way to trap the darkness within its current vessel, kill it off completely? To do so would mean sacrificing another soul—the soul of a man Joshua claims is a traitor. But he’s lied to her before, and even El senses Joshua can’t be fully trusted, but one thing is certain . . .

The Void must be annihilated. And only the Verity—the light which birthed the darkness—can put an end to that which seeks to kill and destroy.

My Review
I liked Unblemished, and I loved Unraveling, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book. Unfortunately, it only earned 3.5 stars in my opinion. While it was still a solid finale, it didn’t live up to my (rather high) expectations.

We saw from a lot more perspectives in this book–Ky and Ebony along with Eliyana. While it was neat to get to see inside some of the other characters’ heads, it was a little annoying at times (especially with Eliyana and Ebony). The characters tend to ramble a lot, and it distracts from the story. It was hard to keep up with the switches between the present and flashbacks.

The plot didn’t really get going until the last quarter or so. For most of the book, the plot wanders hither and yon without a strong direction of what needs to happen next. A lot of what was supposed to be plot twists and revelations felt thrown in, without a whole lot of explanation. I wasn’t super happy with how the story resolved itself either–it was rather anticlimactic after the last book. Also, like Kasey mentioned in her review of Unraveling, the morality bordered on grey and tended to confuse the Christian themes with fantasy.

The world-building was excellent though, and I adore all the references to pop culture that Ella throws in. I won’t say too much about the Reflection(s) introduced in this story, as I don’t want to spoil it, but I will say some of them were familiar locations with a fresh twist.

Overall, I was kinda disappointed in Unbreakable. It felt like a sort of bait-and-switch after the last book, although that might have just been because of how much I loved the last one. Fans of the series will definitely want to read this one to finish the story that started in Unblemished, though I’d caution them about going into it with too high expectations. This trilogy is great for fans of Anne Elisabeth Stengl and Nadine Brandes.

Unbreakable on AmazonRecommended for Ages 12 up.

Cultural Elements
Major characters appear to be white. Some secondary characters have darker skin tones.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
Story-centric curses, like crowe and Verity or Void.

Romance/Sexual Content
Eliyana kisses both Ky and Joshua. She describes her clothing in one scene as being inadequate and describes her figure (not in detail). She is dressed in only undergarments and a slip in one scene. There is some non-sexual nudity in several scenes (relating to shape-shifting).

From the review of Unblemished: Kisses also create bonds and promises. A kiss to the heel of the palm can bind someone to a promise they’ve made, and cause their death if they break that promise. A Kiss of Infinity binds the soul of the giver to the receiver.

Spiritual Content
From the review of Unblemished: While the story flirts with some Christian concepts, occasionally referencing Proverbs or spiritual concepts, I wouldn’t say it holds a truly Christian worldview. The Verity represents light and good, and the Void represents darkness and sin, but each character who interacts with them makes choices based on his or her own strength to battle or join with those forces.

Many characters possess Callings, or special abilities, like healing or shape-shifting.

Violent Content
Injuries are incurred, though not described in detail. Flashbacks include dangerous situations and some injuries. One character is mauled to death, and the wound is semi-described. One character dies from a broken heart. A character uses his blood to heal.

Drug Content
Eliyana, under the influence of the Unbinding Elixir, kisses Joshua, and many of her memories are changed.

Unbreakable on GoodreadsNote: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge