Review: The Music of What Happens by Bill Konigsberg

The Music of What Happens by Bill Konigsberg

The Music of What Happens
Bill Konigsberg
Arthur A. Levine Books
Published February 26, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Music of What Happens

Max: Chill. Sports. Video games. Gay and not a big deal, not to him, not to his mom, not to his buddies. And a secret: An encounter with an older kid that makes it hard to breathe, one that he doesn’t want to think about, ever.

Jordan: The opposite of chill. Poetry. His … Continue reading

Review: The Quiet You Carry by Nikki Barthelmess

The Quiet You Carry by Nikki Barthelmess

The Quiet You Carry
Nikki Barthelmess
Flux Books
Published March 5, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Quiet You Carry

Victoria Parker knew her dad’s behavior toward her was a little unusual, but she convinced herself everything was fine—until she found herself locked out of the house at 3:00 a.m., surrounded by flashing police lights. 

Now, dumped into a crowded, chaotic foster home, Victoria has to tiptoe around her domineering foster mother, get through senior year … Continue reading

Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been … Continue reading

Review: Impossible Music by Sean Williams

Impossible Music by Sean Williams cover shows a silhouette of a boy with an ear bud cord wrapped around his face and wrists.

Impossible Music
Sean Williams
Clarion Books
Published July 2, 2019

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About IMPOSSIBLE MUSIC

Before the stroke that left him deaf, music was Simon’s life. Now, his band breaks up and even his future college career studying musical composition is in jeopardy. How can a deaf student study music?

The only bright spot in all of it is a fierce girl Simon meets at Auslan class, where he learns sign language to communicate. G seems just as angry to … Continue reading

Review: Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe

Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe cover shows a yellow spiral journal with ink drawings of binoculars, a moose, and other things.

Field Guide to the North American Teenager
Ben Philippe
Balzer + Bray
Published January 8, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Book Depository

About FIELD GUIDE TO THE NORTH AMERICAN TEENAGER

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don’t bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas. Plunked into a new high school … Continue reading

Review: Waiting Matters Series by Beth Steury

Saving Sex for Marriage in a Fifty Shades World (Waiting Matters #1)
Beth Steury
Life Matters Publishing
Published on September 12, 2017

Amazon | Goodreads

About Saving Sex for Marriage in a Fifty Shades World
“A world that respects sex . . . ” Can you imagine a society molded around the principle that sex is a gift? An awesomely amazing gift from GOD? You know, the guy who created it? A place where people totally get that sex is more than simply a pleasurable physical act. Oh, everyone knows that sex is incredible. But because it’s so good, sex is protected from anything or anyone who would try to abuse it. Can you even imagine such a … Continue reading

Review: Before I Knew You by Beth Steury

Before I Knew You by Beth SteuryBefore I Knew You
Beth Steury
Life Matters Publishing
Published on March 9, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About Before I Knew You
After a series of bad choices rocked his world, seventeen-year-old Preston charts a new course as far from his ladies’ man ways as he can get. He distances himself from the dating scene and avoids his party-loving friends—the things that once dominated his life. Then he meets Maggie, the new girl in town, the first day of their junior year. She’s beautiful on the inside and out, knows nothing of his past, and he can’t get her out of his mind.

When a disastrous first date … Continue reading

Review: Your Destination is on the Left by Lauren Spieller

Your Destination is on the Left by Lauren SpiellerYour Destination is on the Left
Lauren Spieller
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published on June 26, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About Your Destination is on the Left
Dessa Rhodes is a modern day nomad. Her family travels in an RV, their lives defined by state lines, exit signs, and the small communal caravan they call home. Among them is Cyrus, her best friend and long-time crush, whom she knows she can never be with. When your families are perpetually linked, it’s too dangerous to take a risk on romance.

Instead, Dessa looks to the future. She wants to be a real artist and … Continue reading

Review: The Universe is Expanding and So Am I by Carolyn Mackler

The Universe is Expanding and So Am I by Carolyn MacklerThe Universe is Expanding and So Am I
Carolyn Mackler
Bloomsbury
Published on June 5, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About The Universe is Expanding and So Am I
Virginia Shreves’ world implodes again in this long-awaited follow-up to Printz Honoree The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things.

Sixteen-year-old Virginia Shreves’ life is finally back on course: she’s accepted who she is inside and out and is rebuilding her relationship with brother Byron, whose date-rape charge shattered everything.

But just as she adjusts to her new normal, her world turns upside down again. Sparks with boyfriend Froggy fade, her best friend bombshells bad … Continue reading

Review: Almost There by Laurel Garver

Almost There
Laurel Garver
Createspace
Available May 17, 2016

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Just before Dani and her mother escape to Paris for healing and restoration, Dani learns that her grandfather has been hospitalized. The Paris trip was supposed to be the inspiration to create the artwork that will make Dani’s mother a star, plus the project that will save Dani’s own grade in art class. Now, unless Dani can fix up her grandfather’s house, repair the damaged relationships between him and his children, and find someone to care for the ornery man while they’re gone, her trip is a lost cause.

Dani can’t give up, especially when she learns of her grandmother’s dreams that one day her mom … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...