Review: Believe by Julie Mathison

Believe by Julie Mathison

Believe
Julie Mathison
Starr Creek Press
Published August 4, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Believe

Full of humor and wonder, BELIEVE explores the power and limits of the imagination – and how love both breaks and heals our hearts.

Eleven-year-old Melanie knows she’s special. She’s never been bored. She understands the secret language of old houses and makes jewels out of broken glass. Her imagination can … Continue reading

Review: Hard Wired by Len Vlahos

Hard Wired by Len Vlahos

Hard Wired
Len Vlahos
Bloomsbury YA
Published July 7, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Hard Wired

Quinn thinks he’s a normal boy with an average life. That is, until he finds a trail of clues the father he barely knew left behind.

After Quinn unravels his father’s puzzles, he “wakes up” … and realizes his world was nothing more than a virtual construct. In reality, he’s the first fully-aware A.I. in the world, part of an experiment run by a team of scientists—including the man he thought was his father.

As the scientists continue to study him, Quinn’s new existence becomes … Continue reading

Review: The Queen Bee and Me by Gillian McDunn

The Queen Bee and Me by Gillian McDunn

The Queen Bee and Me
Gillian McDunn
Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Published March 3, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Queen Bee and Me

Meg has been friends with confident, self-assured Beatrix since kindergarten. She’s always found comfort in Beatrix’s shadow—even their families call them Beatrix-and-Meg. But middle school has brought some changes in Beatrix, especially when Meg tries to step outside her role as sidekick. Upsetting Beatrix means risking The Freeze—or worse.

Meg gets into a … Continue reading

Review: The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow

The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow

The Sound of Stars
Alechia Dow
Inkyard Press
Published February 25, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About The Sound of Stars

Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity?

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. … Continue reading

Review: The Voyage of the Sandpiper by Jessica Glasner

The Voyage of the Sandpiper by Jessica Glasner

The Voyage of the Sandpiper
Jessica Glasner
Hope House Press
Published July 17, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Voyage of the Sandpiper

“Your life will never be exciting if you’re afraid to risk becoming cold and wet. You and I, we throw caution to the wind! We swim to the greatest depths! We face the sea!”

Summer, 1939. When fifteen-year-old Agatha’s mother falls gravely ill, she is shipped off to the coast of Maine to … Continue reading

Review: Power of a Princess by E. D. Baker

Power of a Princess by E. D. Baker

Power of a Princess (More Than a Princess #2)
E. D. Baker
Bloomsbury USA Kids
Published November 19, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Power of a Princess

From beloved author E.D. Baker, an adventurous tale about a princess who is more than what she seems — and a kingdom whose fate rests in her hands.

Aislin is more than just a princess. Born to a fairy king and pedrasi queen, she’s strong, smart, and brave, with magical gifts she’s … Continue reading

Review: The Music of What Happens by Bill Konigsberg

The Music of What Happens by Bill Konigsberg

The Music of What Happens
Bill Konigsberg
Arthur A. Levine Books
Published February 26, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Music of What Happens

Max: Chill. Sports. Video games. Gay and not a big deal, not to him, not to his mom, not to his buddies. And a secret: An encounter with an older kid that makes it hard to breathe, one that he doesn’t want to think about, ever.

Jordan: The opposite of … Continue reading

Review: The Quiet You Carry by Nikki Barthelmess

The Quiet You Carry by Nikki Barthelmess

The Quiet You Carry
Nikki Barthelmess
Flux Books
Published March 5, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Quiet You Carry

Victoria Parker knew her dad’s behavior toward her was a little unusual, but she convinced herself everything was fine—until she found herself locked out of the house at 3:00 a.m., surrounded by flashing police lights. 

Now, dumped into a crowded, chaotic foster home, Victoria has to tiptoe around her domineering foster mother, get … Continue reading

Review: The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me by Antony John

The Other Better Me
Antony John
HarperCollins
Published October 1, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Other Better Me

From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And … Continue reading

Review: Impossible Music by Sean Williams

Impossible Music by Sean Williams cover shows a silhouette of a boy with an ear bud cord wrapped around his face and wrists.

Impossible Music
Sean Williams
Clarion Books
Published July 2, 2019

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About IMPOSSIBLE MUSIC

Before the stroke that left him deaf, music was Simon’s life. Now, his band breaks up and even his future college career studying musical composition is in jeopardy. How can a deaf student study music?

The only bright spot in all of it is a fierce girl Simon meets at Auslan class, where he learns sign language to communicate. G seems just … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...