Top Ten Tuesday: Books You’re Probably Missing Out On

10 Books You're Probably Missing Out On

Top Ten Books You’re Probably Missing Out On

If you read a lot, just keeping up with your favorite authors can fill your shelves and all your spare reading hours. No matter how hard you try, some amazing books will slip past you without you realizing it. That’s why, for this Top Ten Tuesday, I’ve made this list of ten of my favorite books you’re probably missing out on.

Elsie May Has Something to Say- books you're probably missingElsie Mae Has Something to Say by Nancy J. Cavanaugh

Honestly, this is probably one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I fell head over heels in love with the story and its characters. It became one of those books I bought multiple copies of so I could give them as Christmas gifts last year. (Apparently this is how I get people I love to read the books I love. It pretty much works.) Seriously, though, if you like Southern fiction and coming-of-age type stories, this is one not to be missed. It’s SO good. You can find my review here.

Traitor's Masque - books you're probably missingTraitor’s Masque by Kenley Davidson

This whole series is AMAZING. I’m a huge fan of re-imagined fairy tales, but these are truly something special. I love the character complexity Davidson brings to the stories and the strong heroines each book features. This retelling of Cinderella actually gives its leading girl some action. Rather than being locked in a room waiting for her prince, she’s caught in a web of political intrigue. It’s so good. You can find my review here.

Dreadlands - books you're probably missingDreadlands: Wolf Moon by Jaimie Engle

Dreadlands is another of the great books you’re probably missing out on. I love the way this story blends werewolves and Norse mythology. It’s fast-paced but with a sweet romance, and a perfect read for a rainy afternoon. The story is pretty clean, too, so it’s a great book for readers transitioning from middle grade (elementary-aged) books to young adult (middle/high school books). It’s kind of a How to Train Your Dragon meets Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. Check out my review for more.

Freedom's Just Another Word - books you're probably missingFreedom’s Just Another Word by Caroline Stellings

I’ve read several books by Caroline Stellings, and each one is better than the last. I’m never surprised to learn she’s won an award for writing. Her storytelling is strong and crisp, and her characters seem to pop right off the pages. I knew I would like this book for its references to music– the legendary Janis Joplin even appears in a few scenes– and I was so very right. But in addition to music, it’s rich in its 1970s, gritty Southern setting. I highly recommend it in my review, and I stand by it.

Between Shadows - books you're probably missingBetween Shadows by Kathleen Cook Waldron

I can’t help but have a special place in my heart for this fantastic book. The author and I met on an Alaskan cruise– one of those serendipitous moments where we connected long before I learned she was a writer, and wrote children’s books to boot! Imagine how much more excited I was when I had the chance to read and review this great book. The cover shows the silhouette of the main character, Ari, who’s dealing with his unconventional grandfather’s sudden passing. Ari’s grandfather lived in a remote area and painted his log cabin like a rainbow. The story is about friendships and loss and is spunky and heartwarming. A definite favorite I don’t get to talk enough about.

Glass Girl - books you're probably missingGlass Girl by Laura Anderson Kurk

I feel like Glass Girl is exactly the kind of book I wanted to read in high school. It’s packed with emotion and oozing with cowboy romance. It follows Meg through the aftermath of a school shooting and a cross-country move that takes her to the Wyoming wilds. Meg is so relatable. I love this book. More about it in my review.

Viola Doyle - books you're probably missingViola Doyle or an Unconventional Gift by Amy Lynn Spitzley

I truly haven’t talked about this book in a long time, but it’s another great hidden gem. In this book, Spitzley keeps us guessing with wild adventures and totally unexpected turns of events. I loved every surprise and the quirky cast of characters in the Victorian-ish setting. So much fun! You’ll find my review here.

Behind These Hands - books you're probably missingBehind These Hands by Linda Vigen Phillips

I feel almost like I’m cheating to include this book, since I only reviewed it a few weeks ago, but I don’t think it’s getting nearly the buzz it deserves. In powerful, moving verse, Phillips shows the heartache of a family in which two young boys are diagnosed with Batten’s Disease. I’d never heard of Batten’s before reading this book, and it hit me hard because of the amazing writing. I definitely identified with Claire as the oldest child and the one under pressure to hold things together. If you’re a fan of novels in verse, you need to read this one. Seriously. And if you’ve never read one, Behind These Hands is a great one to try.

Aquifer - books you're probably missingAquifer by Jonathan Friesen

The story world of this book was so intriguing. It’s kind of Waterworld (the Kevin Costner movie) meets The Giver. I loved the high stakes and creepy dystopian elements. Definitely a good pick for fans of Ally Condie or Scott Westerfeld. My review is here.

Running Lean - books you're missingRunning Lean by Diana Sharples

Okay, I’m sort of cheating again. I really haven’t talked about this book in a long time, and I enjoyed reading it so much. I reviewed Running Lean in 2013, but part of the reason I’m including it is because Diana Sharples has a new book out called Running Strong, which is on my To Be Read list! I love her writing – it’s clean, and the stories are strong. Another great author for younger teen readers.

Add to my list!

What are your favorite books that never get the praise they deserve? Tell me in the comments or leave me a link to your top ten list.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

Kasey is a mother, reader and aspiring author. When she's not reading or writing, you might find her out on the water fly fishing, pretending she can keep houseplants alive, or talking with the family rescue cat.

26 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: Books You’re Probably Missing Out On

  1. I remember seeing “Running Lean” around the blogosphere a lot when it first released, but to be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever read what it’s all about. Someday I should remedy this. I also hear “Glass Girl” is an amazing read, and I think I even own a copy! Thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland last week, Kasey; my apologies it took me this long to circle around to The Story Sanctuary. Happy reading!! πŸ™‚
    Rissi @ Finding Wonderland recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday | Books on My Fall TBR I Want to ReadMy Profile

    • Kasey says:

      No worries on taking a week to get back. I have a hard time keeping up with blog reading myself. I hope you get a chance to check out Running Lean and enjoy it if you do! πŸ™‚

  2. I love seeing a list full of books I’ve never even seen before. Definitely adding to my TBR. πŸ™‚
    Bonnie @ For the Love of Words recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday – Heads You Win: A Novel by Jeffrey ArcherMy Profile

  3. Kyra says:

    Elsie Mae Has Something to Say, Traitor’s Masque and Freedom’s Just Another Word sound SO GOOD – I’ve added them to my wishlist!

  4. Oh oh I’ve read Glass Girl! That is to say I’ve read it, but it was years ago, so I actually don’t remember details so much oops. Hehe. I liked it at the time though. And Traitor’s Masque has me instantly captivated…I looove fractured fairy tales. (This week’s TTT is not helping my tbr haha.)

    • Kasey Giard says:

      Right?! TTT is horrible for my TBR list. And my book budget. I can count books as part of the grocery budget, right? I mean, I sometimes read while eating, so that means it’s part of meals? Ha. Thanks, Cait!

  5. I love the cover of Between Shadows! The story sounds pretty good, too.
    Aj @ Read All The Things! recently posted…Discussion: Taming Your Terrifying To-Read ListMy Profile

  6. I was definitely missing out on these books because I haven’t heard of any of them before! Really need to change that because most of them sound like something I would usually pick up and love! πŸ™‚
    I am especially intrigued by Glass Girl, I’ve never read a cowboy romance but the concept of it sounds really cool!

  7. Emily Anne says:

    Traitor’s Mask looks so good and I love the cover!

  8. I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these but I have a feeling I’ll be adding at least a few to my endless TBR list πŸ˜€

  9. Elsie May Has Something To Say looks incredible! πŸ™‚ Wonderful list.

  10. I haven’t read any of these. But Elsie May Has Something To Say, Traitor’s Masque and Aquifer have such stunning covers! I’ll definitely have to check them out.

  11. Greg says:

    Ooh I like this list. Traitor’s Masque looks great (lovely cover) and I like the sound of Cinderella actually having something to do. Totally new to me too!

    Dreadlands sounds amazing too- werewolves plus Norse mythology? Yes please. πŸ™‚

  12. Great list! I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these before, I’ll have to check them out!

  13. Fantastic list! You did the meme perfectly this week, because I haven’t heard of ANY of these! A bunch of them sound like ones I would like, though, so I’ll have to add them to my ever expanding TBR. πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge