Review: Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince by Liz Kessler

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince
Liz Kessler
Candlewick Press
Publishes March 12, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

About EMILY WINDSNAP AND THE PIRATE PRINCE

Emily Windsnap ends up surrounded by pirates — and on a life-changing adventure — in the eighth installment of the New York Times best-selling series.

Traveling home by cruise ship should be a relaxing break after Emily’s latest adventure, but things take a turn when the ship is overtaken by a pirate king and his crew. After the pirates collect everyone’s riches, they steal something even more valuable: Aaron. The pirate king’s eldest son takes Aaron captive, forcing him to help guide the pirates to the mythical Trident’s Treasure.

So Emily dives into action and joins the younger son’s crew in hopes of saving Aaron. But while experiencing life on the waves, Emily is surprised to find herself not only enjoying the pirate life, but actually bonding with the crew — especially Sam, the pirate king’s son. Between helping Sam unravel riddles to beat his brother to the treasure and making sure that her friends are safe, Emily realizes that she needs to be true to herself. Will she cast aside her mermaid life to join her new friends, or will she find a way to follow her own path?

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince on Amazon

My Review

EMILY WINDSNAP AND THE PIRATE PRINCE is the first book in the series that I’ve ever read. I think I own a couple of the others, books I bought when my own older reader was the right age to enjoy them, but we never got around to reading them. I enjoyed the book. It was a super quick read, and even had a few unexpected twists. Emily makes a spunky, fun narrator and the plot moves quickly through a series of challenges as Emily and her team of pirates race toward the treasure and Sam’s chance to be the next pirate king.

I think the series is a great fit for fans of The Frog Princess books or CLIFTON CHASE AND THE ARROW OF LIGHT by Jaimie Engle.

Recommended for Ages 8 to 12.

Representation
No race details.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
None.

Romance/Sexual Content
Brief kissing between a boy and girl. (like, a peck on the lips brief.)

Spiritual Content
None.

Violent Content
The pirate king and his older son play by pirate rules — hurling tricks and insults at each other and the crew.

Drug Content
None.

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince on Goodreads

Note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. This post contains affiliate links.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge