About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

13 Most-Anticipated Middle Grade Books Out Fall 2020

13 Most-Anticipated Middle Grade Books Coming Fall 2020

Great Middle Grade Books Coming This Fall

It’s finally fall! A new season and new fantastic middle grade books coming out soon to usher in the spooky season and the cooler weather. (Well, thoughts of cooler weather, anyway. Here in Florida, we have a while yet before we get a real break from the heat.)

I’m not usually a big Halloween girl– I was raised not celebrating, so I guess I’ve never really gotten into the holiday as an adult. This year, though, there are some spooky books on my wish list that I think will be perfect for readers looking for a deliciously creepy crawly read.

There are also some great stories about relationships and celebrating the arts, like writing, ballet, and figure … Continue reading

Review: Smash It! by Francina Simone

Smash It by Francina Simone

Smash It!
Francina Simone
Inkyard Press
Published September 22, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Smash It!

Refreshingly authentic and bold… Don’t miss this smashing #ownvoices novel from Francina Simone! Filled with heart, humor and a heroine to root for, Smash It! is a perfect read for fans of Julie Murphy, Ibi Zoboi and Ashley Poston.

Olivia “Liv” James is done with letting her insecurities get the best of her. So she does what any self-respecting hot … Continue reading

Review: The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi

The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi

The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves #2)
Roshani Chokshi
Wednesday Books
Published September 22, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About The Silvered Serpents

They are each other’s fiercest love, greatest danger, and only hope.

Séverin and his team members might have successfully thwarted the Fallen House, but victory came at a terrible cost — one that still haunts all of them. Desperate to make amends, Séverin pursues a dangerous lead to find a long lost artifact rumored to grant its possessor the power of God.

Their hunt lures them far from Paris, and into the … Continue reading

Review: A Clue in the Trees by Margi Preus

A Clue in the Trees by Margi Preus

The Clue in the Trees
Margi Preus
University of Minnesota Press
Published September 19, 2017

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About The Clue in the Trees

Francie’s brother Theo has secrets—secrets Francie thinks she wants to know. But what if one of those secrets is that Theo is a murderer? To avoid considering that possibility, Francie plunges into her senior year at a small-town high school near Enchantment Lake in northern Minnesota. It’s a radical change from her private school in New York, but she hopes to keep an eye on her … Continue reading

Review: Enchantment Lake by Margi Preus

Enchantment Lake by Margi Preus

Enchantment Lake (A Northwoods Mystery)
Margi Preus
University of Minnesota Press
Published March 11, 2015

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Enchantment Lake

A disturbing call from her great aunts Astrid and Jeannette sends seventeen-year-old Francie far from her new home in New York into a tangle of mysteries. Ditching an audition in a Manhattan theater, Francie travels to a remote lake in the northwoods where her aunts’ neighbors are “dropping like flies” from strange accidents. But are they accidents?

On the shores of Enchantment Lake in the woods of northern Minnesota, something ominous is afoot, and … Continue reading

Review: Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera

Never Look Back by Lilliam Rivera

Never Look Back
Lilliam Rivera
Bloomsbury YA
Published September 15, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Never Look Back

Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria–and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there’s this boy . . .

Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with … Continue reading

Review: You Call This Democracy?: How to Fix Our Government and Deliver Power to the People by Elizabeth Rusch

You Call This Democracy by Elizabeth Rusch

You Call This Democracy?: How to Fix Our Government and Deliver Power to the People
Elizabeth Rusch
HMH Books for Young Readers
Published March 31, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About You Call This Democracy?: How to Fix Our Government and Deliver Power to the People

America is the greatest democracy in the world . . . isn’t it? Author Elizabeth Rusch examines some … Continue reading

Cover Reveal and #1001DiverseBooksCampaign: Rea and the Blood of the Nectar by Payal Doshi

Rea and the Blood of the Nectar Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal and #1001DiverseBooksCampaign

Exciting news! Mango and Marigold Press is launching its eighteenth book and first middle grade novel ever. REA AND THE BLOOD OF THE NECTAR is written by debut #ownvoices author Payal Doshi. It tells the story of Rea Chettri, a 12-year-old girl living a simple, if boring, life on the tea plantations of Darjeeling, India. When her twin brother goes missing, Rea’s life gets turned on its head. Determined to save him, Rea embarks on a secret, thrilling adventure into the enchanted world of Astranthia. There, Rea will make new friends, grapple with dark truths, learn the meaning of family and friendship, and discover her true self.

REA AND THE BLOOD OF THE NECTAR is the first book in … Continue reading

Review: These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin

These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin

These Vengeful Hearts
Katherine Laurin
Inkyard Press
Published September 8, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About These Vengeful Hearts

Anyone can ask the Red Court for a favor…but every request comes at a cost. And once the deed is done, you’re forever in their debt.

Whenever something scandalous happens at Heller High, the Red Court is the name on everyone’s lips. Its members–the most elite female students in the school–deal out social ruin and favors in … Continue reading

Review: A Boy Called Preacher by Cheryl Shuermann

A Boy Called Preacher by Cheryl Schuermann

A Boy Called Preacher
Cheryl Schuermann
INtense Publications
Published May 16, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About A Boy Called Preacher

Johnny “Preacher” Wilcox never planned on running a wheat farm at the age of twelve. When his father abruptly leaves the family on a Kansas farm during the height of World War II, Preacher is left with unanswered questions, wheat land to plow, and a broken tractor. The tractor mechanic is meaner than a bobcat, the creek is drying up, and Preacher’s best friend, Earl Floyd, betrays him (or, so he thinks.) At … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...