Author Jaimie Engle Talks Bullying and What You Can Do About It

Several years ago, I reviewed a book called Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light by Jaimie Engle. Since then, I’ve been impressed with Jaimie’s passion to educate kids about standing up against bullying. Her book addresses the issue, but she doesn’t stop there. Jaimie also visits schools to speak about bullying and how to combat it. I asked her to share some of her insights with us here today.

jaimie_engle_author

About Jaimie Engle

Jaimie Engle is an award-winning author of fantasy, horror, and science fiction books from the Space Coast of Florida. Her passion is talking to kids about writing and social issues because words have power. Her first novel, an anti-bullying fantasy adventure, was written after her own son was bullied in school. She took him to archery club, where she imagined a stalking dwarf seeking a magic arrow. Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light was born. Since then, Engle has published several award-winning books and spoken to tens of thousands of kids across the country about their part in bullying.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Bullying: Standing Up

By Jaimie M. Engle

Students are burdened to identify themselves as aggressors, victims, passive bystanders or aggressive bystanders. According to the US Department of Education, more than 8 million students nationwide ages 12-18 reported being bullied.

As parents, how can we not encourage kids to confront these individuals? To passively walk away and hope the bully will leave them alone. What does this resolve? Won’t they just seek a new, weaker person to prey upon? It is our responsibility to teach the next generation to stand up for someone when they don’t have the words, courage, or ability to stand up for themselves.

The National Education Association reported that 160,000 bullied children miss at least one day of school a month. These children are more likely to experience mental health concerns resulting in issues such as head and stomachaches, inability to concentrate, poor performance in school, to the worst cases of depression, isolation and suicide. How can a child who is told to ignore a malicious statement possibly pay attention in class? Or a student who is threatened physical harm able to attend school when told to turn the other cheek?

When my son was in first grade, he was bullied and no one was there to help him. That’s why I wrote my first book. I grew up letting people push me around and I didn’t want to see my son make my same mistakes.

Bullying is not a new thing, and it doesn’t just occur between kids. In my book, Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light, Clifton is dealing with the school bully and failing miserably until he is magically whisked away to Medieval England. There, he helps two forgotten princes face their tyrant uncle while being guided by a dwarf named Dane and a mythical creature called Simurgh. Through discovering the true meaning of friendship and the courage to do what’s right, Clifton discovers his purpose, rescues the princes, and faces his own bully.

CliftonChase_8.5x8.5_ColoringBook.inddEveryday kids can stand up for themselves, just like Clifton Chase. Through a fun story filled with mermaids, dragons, and magic, truth is discovered and bullies never win! Clifton is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and the Chronicles of Narnia, ages 8+. And the companion book, Clifton Chase the Coloring Book, shares the same story and message in an easy to read coloring book for the younger brothers and sisters of Clifton Chase fans (and the young at heart)!

With #everykidsvoice we can #targetbullying to stop it!

Visit Jaimie Engle on her web site to learn more about her books, school visits, and services to help authors.

CliftonChase_6x9_FullCoverFINAL_Ebook

Clifton Chase and the Arrow of Light

Clifton Chase couldn’t possibly know the mysterious arrow he finds in his closet will lead him to the year 1485. Two princes need his help, but why? Carrying the Arrow of Light, a weapon forged from the Tree of Knowledge itself, Clifton is led on a journey to face fire-breathing dragons, kidnapping by merpeople, and a final battle, which will end the War of the Roses and the reign of a tyrant king. Will Clifton discover his purpose on time and save the day? Or has the arrow chosen the wrong boy?

History clashes with fantasy in this middle grade adventure story. (From Goodreads)

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Story Sanctuary Review

Save

Save

Save

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Kasey Giard

Kasey is a mother, reader and aspiring author. When she’s not reading or writing, you might find her out on the water fly fishing, pretending she can keep houseplants alive, or talking with the family rescue cat.

Tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Jaimie Engle Talks Bullying and What You Can Do About It

  1. Chris Solaas says:

    As a victim of bullying myself over a period of years, in particular a five month period, I can attest to the impact it has on one’s life. My first fantasy novel involved a bully, somewhat because of that experience.

    My birthday stuck me in classes a bit older than myself, so my stature made me an easy target. For years I had bigger kids picking on me, getting lunch money, pushing me out of line, tripping me.

    One kid in particular made my life a living horror in 9th grade. I was dropped off for school a half-hour early every day, and had to hide in the bushes to avoid him. He would follow me as I walked home, beating on me, shoving me, slamming me into fences. I never fought back, I just tried to find alternate routes home. Finally he slapped a girl I liked to get at me, and I decked him. I would have been suspended but the girl still had a handprint on her face, and testified against him, and he got suspended instead. From that moment on, he just avoided ME.

    After that experience I tried to defend smaller kids from their bullies where I could. I found it impossible to look on while someone was getting hurt.

    Who knows what life he had at home, what prompted it? I’ve heard it said that hurt people hurt people. He was probably getting slapped around by an older brother, an abusive dad. But from my chair, it is better to take that anger and hurt, and give it to God, who loves you and has broad shoulders, rather than expressing your hurt over being bullied by passing it down to those weaker.

    Thank you for this article, obviously it spoke to me. By the way, The Arrow of Light is the highest award in Cub Scouts and is a bridging patch to Boy Scouts. I suspect that name wasn’t an accident? Your book looks interesting!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story, be it a brief snippet. I am so sorry to hear that you had to go through this. I agree with everything you said about “hurt people hurting people” and do feel that the only answer is God. When I do author visits, my biggest idea for the kids is to stress the Golden Rule. If everyone treated everyone with respect and kindness, we would have no bullying. Of course, that’s an ideal situation, so sometimes, you must be the voice for someone who can’t. I feel very honored to have this job and blessed to share God’s truth with kids in public schools. And yes, the Arrow of Light came about around the same time that my son was in Cub Scouts. I loved the concept. I would love to send you an ebook or audiobook, if you’re interested. Just head to my site at jaimiengle.com and fill out the form or email directly at jaimiengle.com. Thank you again for sharing. I’d love to learn more about your book as well!

  2. Jaimie Engle says:

    Thank you for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *