Top Ten Books from 2017

Top Ten Books from 2017

Top Ten Books from 2017

Here are some of my favorite books that came out this year, that have been reviewed here by Kasey or me:

The Lost Girl of Astor Street by Stephanie Morrill– February 7th, 2017

Stephanie Morrill’s latest book is a mystery set in Chicago during the Roaring 20s. It features a strong heroine and a swoon-worthy detective, along with several unexpected twists. Kasey reviewed this book back in March, and said it was a must read for historical fiction and mystery lovers alike. After reading it for myself, I definitely would agree!

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron– March 7th, 2017

The Illusionist’s Apprentice is another historical fiction/mystery novel set in the 1920s. It had some of the strongest written characters that I have come across, and an incredible plot to go along with it. I love the heartbreaking depth of Kristy Cambron’s writing, and highly recommend her latest novel. This book is a great follow-up for those looking for another book similar to The Lost Girl of Astor Street.

Shadow and Thorn (Andari Chronicles #4) by Kenley Davidson– March 12th, 2017

Kenley Davidson writes some of the best fairytale retellings that I have ever come across. Her latest addition to the series is a retelling inspired by Beauty and the Beast, and features the return of several characters from previous books. Kasey remarked that it was possibly one of the most clever retellings of Beauty and the Beast that she has ever come across, and that’s including the great Robin McKinley’s own retelling, Beauty. If you love fairytales as much as we do, you need to pick up this series ASAP!

Spindle Fire (Spindle Fire #1) by Lexa Hillyer– April 11th, 2017

Another fairytale retelling, but this one is much grittier. It’s a retelling of Sleeping Beauty with a dash of Alice in Wonderland and Maleficent thrown in for good measure. Kasey loved all of the characters in this book, and so did I–there’s a wide variety of personalities in this one, and all of them are fun to read. You might want to wait to read this one until the sequel comes out though–it ends in a horrific cliffhanger!

Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson– May 30th, 2017

In this book, Sara B. Larson (author of the Defy series) tells a story inspired by Swan Lake in a high-fantasy world that will bring back LOTR vibes. Creepy and magical by turns, it’s definitely a book that will give you chills at all the right times. The world-building was epic, and I adored the characters. I can’t wait to read the sequel!

Unraveling by Sara Ella– July 11th, 2017

If Dark Breaks the Dawn will give you chills, Unraveling by Sara Ella will make you cry. In a happy sort of way, of course. This book is the sequel to Unblemished, a world-hopping fantasy adventure that reminded me of the Chronicles of Narnia. It features my favorite book couple of all time, and one of the sweetest romances I’ve come across. Kasey likened it to The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and The Storm Siren trilogy by Mary Weber. If you haven’t read Unblemished yet, be sure to give that one a go before diving into Unraveling, so you can understand what in the world is going on.

Reintegration by Ashley Bogner– August 15th, 2017

While I felt like this dystopian novel got off to a slow start, the ending made up for it many times over. I could not read fast enough to find out what happened! There was a lot of twists and surprises packed into the last few pages, and I’m looking forward to the second book to get some answers. I highly recommend adding this one to your dystopian shelf alongside books like The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron and the Matched trilogy by Ally Condie.

Murder, Magic, and What We Wore by Kelly Jones– September 19th, 2017

This book was hilarious.It’s the perfect light-hearted read, and an excellent way to recover from a book hangover. The tongue-in-cheek humor reminded me a lot of Cindy Anstey’s writing, as did the Regency-era setting. The magic system reminded me of Mary Robinette Kowal’s Glamourist Histories, while being cleaner and more accessible to a younger audience.  I’m hoping that Kelly Jones will turn this into a series, as I would love to see what happens to the characters next!

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson– September 26th, 2017

I was so thrilled to read this book, that I actually ended up preordering it (something that I almost never do). I wasn’t disappointed–this book was the perfect mixture of spooky and epic, and it makes for a great Halloween read. I would love to read more books set in this world, as Rogerson did an amazing job fleshing out the Fair Folk and their realm. This book will especially appeal to fans of Sara J. Maas and Holly Black.

The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia– October 24th, 2017

This book was so good, I ended up reading and reviewing it twice. The characters have such amazing depth to them, as did the writing itself. I got chills as I read it through and came across an especially insightful conversation or end to a chapter. While it does have some content issues, it’s still well worth the read, as it gives an incredibly perceptive look at human nature.

What’s on your favorites list?

How about you? Do you have any favorite books that came out this year? Or are you ready to discover a new favorite by picking up one of these? Comment below; we’d love to hear your recommendations!

 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Ten Books from 2017

  1. Nicole says:

    Great list! 🙂 I definitely have in mind to check out some of these titles.

    I posted my top ten favorite reads from this year on my blog, but I’ll re-post an abbreviated list below (just to note, these are books I read for the very first time in 2017 but they might not have been published in 2017):
    10. “The Only Pirate at the Party” by Lindsey Stirling
    9. “Strange the Dreamer” by Laini Taylor
    8. “Walk on Earth a Stranger” by Rae Carson
    7. Wires and Nerve, Volume 1″ by Marissa Meyer
    6. “Dividing Eden” by Joelle Charbonneau
    5. “Flame in the Mist” by Renee Ahdieh
    4. “Caraval” by Stephanie Garber
    3. “News of the World” by Paulette Jiles
    2. “The Blue Castle” by L. M. Montgomery
    1. “Thrawn” by Timothy Zahn

  2. Sam@WLABB says:

    You have books on your list that I liked very much. I am glad I am not the only person who enjoyed Dark Breaks the Dawn. Some of my favorites were: Alex Approximately, Words in Deep Blue, When Dimple Met Rishi, Foolish Hearts, My New Crush Gave to Me, Top Ten, Short History of the Girl Next Door, Daughter of the Pirate King, and a bunch more. I had a stellar reading year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *