Top Ten Tuesday: 2022 Summer Reading List

Summer Reading List

Top Ten Tuesday: Summer Reading List

School has been out where I live for almost a month, so we’re nearly halfway through with summer here. A few weeks ago, I posted this list of 25 new summer releases that I can’t wait to read. Lately, though, I’ve been finding myself reaching for some of backlist titles. Since most of my lists feature upcoming books, I don’t get a lot of chances to talk about backlist titles that I’m reading or longing to. So, today I’m giving those books the spotlight. Here are my top ten backlist titles I’m hoping to read this summer.

Note: Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. This post contains affiliate links. All opinions my own.

Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: This is one of those books I can’t believe I haven’t read. A young girl under a terrible curse. An oddball sorcerer with secrets. A magical castle. Sounds like loads of fun!

Release Date: April 1986


The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: Wallflower has been a pretty constantly challenged book in high school libraries but also hailed as something of a cult classic. I already had it on my TBR list and lately a friend recommended it. I’m expecting a wild, angsty story, and I’m ready for it.

Release Date: February 1, 1999


Ironhand by Charlie Fletcher

Ironhand (Stoneheart #2) by Charlie Fletcher

Amazon | Goodreads

What you need to know: I really liked STONEHEART, the first book in this series. For a while now I’ve been wanting to finish out the trilogy. I love the story– a London full of living statues, a quest to save the world from evil. A boy and girl trying to understand the magic inside them. Good stuff.

Release Date: October 1, 2007


Heartstoppers: Volume One by Alice Oseman

The Heartstopper Series by Alice Oseman

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: HEARTSTOPPER is a series of graphic novels that follows Charlie and Nick through falling in love and some trials and challenges to their relationship. I haven’t watched the series on Netflix yet, because I wanted to read the books first, but once I catch up, I can’t wait to check it out. The final installment in the series is due out next year, so my goal is to read books 1-4.

Release Date: 2018-2023


The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: From Goodreads: “Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.” I loved WITH THE FIRE ON HIGH, so I can’t wait to read this one.

Release Date: March 6, 2018


City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab

City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake #1) by Victoria Schwab

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: Ever since her near death experience, Cassidy has been able to see ghosts. In fact, her best friend is one. I think this one has been on my reading list for so long that I thought it was a standalone because only one book was out when I put it on my TBR list. I want to read the whole series, but I’ll start with this one.

Release Date: August 28, 2018


The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: A novel in verse about a boy exploring his identity as a mixed-race gay teen and drag artist. I’ve heard so many incredible things about this book.

Release Date: August 8, 2019


Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon

Of Curses and Kisses (St. Rosetta’s Academy #1) by Sandhya Menon

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: A modern-day retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in a remote Colorado boarding school. I can’t remember who, but one of the bloggers I follow listed this as her favorite romance novel, so I’m definitely interested in reading it!

Release Date: February 18, 2020


Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger

Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: A girl investigates her cousin’s murder, relying on her magic, wits, and ferocity to unmask the town’s secrets. This is another book that I’ve heard incredible things about. I definitely need to read it ASAP.

Release Date: August 25, 2020


We Free the Stars by Hafsah Faizal

We Free the Stars by Hafsah Faizal

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

What you need to know: The breathtaking conclusion to the Sands of Arawiya Duology. I loved the first book in this series, and I’ve been desperate to know what happens to Nasir, Zafira, and Altair.

Release Date: January 19, 2021

What’s on your summer reading list?

Are there any books you hope to read this summer? Have you read any of the books on my list? Let me know! I’d love to know what you think and what you’ll be reading this season.

Tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey

Reads things. Writes things. Fluent in sarcasm. Willful optimist. Cat companion, chocolate connoisseur, coffee drinker. There are some who call me Mom.

25 Responses to Top Ten Tuesday: 2022 Summer Reading List

  1. Jaime says:

    Love Howl’s Moving Castle! I’ll be reading that and City of Ghosts later this year for a book club I host at my library.

    Good luck with your list! 🙂

  2. Amber says:

    I really enjoyed City of Ghosts! I love Edinburgh so it was the perfect setting for me.

  3. CurlyGeek says:

    The Poet X is wonderful, as are Elizabeth Acevedo’s other books. Elatsoe is also really good. I’m very interested in Heartstoppers. Enjoy your summer reading!

    • Kasey says:

      I loved With the Fire on High, so I’m excited about this one. I started listening to the audiobook which is read by her, and I’m loving it so far. I hope you enjoy your summer reading, too!

  4. I still need to read We Free The Stars as well. Probably need to re-read the first one now before I do. I also have never read Howl’s Moving Castle. I have read Heartstopper and LOVED it .

    • Kasey says:

      Yeah, it’s been a long time since I’ve read We Hunt the Flame, too. I’m hoping that there will be enough recap info in the book to jog my memory. If not, yeah, I’ll have to go back and refresh. Thanks! 🙂

  5. Sam@WLABB says:

    Perks was really good. Heartbreaking but hopeful too. The kid and I share a favorite song, so I connected with him in some way. Hope you adore all these books.

  6. Charlotte says:

    Ahh so many books on here are on my TBR too! Elatsoe is one I definitely can’t wait to get to.

    My TTT: https://thinkingbookishthoughts.wordpress.com/2022/06/28/top-10-tuesday-28th-june/

  7. This is a fabulous list!! I loved Heartstopper, We Free the Stars, Howl’s Moving Castle, and Perks of a Wallflower!! I hope you enjoy them too. 🙂

  8. I love that you focused on backlist titles! Too much of the time they get pushed away and forgotten in favor of new releases. I haven’t read any of the ones you highlighted, but a couple of them are on my TBR list somewhere. I hope you enjoy them all.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

  9. I loved Howl’s Moving Castle. Hope you do too. Natalie @ Literary Rambles

  10. Jo says:

    Hope you enjoy all of these! I read City of Ghosts a couple of years back and it was really fun, I still need to read the most recent instalment in the series though. I wasn’t a big fan of Perks of Being A Wallflower, I really enjoyed the movie, but the epistolary format of the book didn’t work for me.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2022/06/28/top-ten-tuesday-374/

  11. Howl’s Moving Castle, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Elatsoe are all fantastic, fantastic reads!

  12. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is one of my all time favorite books.

    • Kasey says:

      Yay! I have a friend who says the movie is one of his favorites. I want to read the book before I watch the movie. So glad to know it’s good!

  13. Astilbe says:

    The Black Flamingo sounds so good.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday.

  14. Lydia says:

    I haven’t read Howl’s Moving Castle yet either, but it sure looks fun.

    My post: https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-books-on-my-summer-2022-to-read-list/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.