Upcoming Reviews on The Story Sanctuary

Last year brought about some big changes in The Story Sanctuary. As an active member of NetGalley, I’ve been able to request and review some great releases (like We Were Liars by E. Lockhart and We Are the Goldens by Dana Reinhardt.) I also accepted requests from authors to review some great books (Through the Balustrade by M B Dahl was one of my favorites.)

This year, there are even more books coming my way, and I’m super excited to read and review them. Here are a few you can expect to see posted on The Story Sanctuary in the next six weeks…

the-ruby-airshipThe Ruby Airship by Sharon Gosling, Capstone Young Readers – Switch Press
Release Date: 2/2/15
Note: I’ve already finished reading this one, and I really enjoyed it. Lots of action, sweet romance, and fun characters. I have not read the first book in the series, but it didn’t detract from my ability to enjoy this one. And now I have to go buy the first one because I want to read that one, too!

bricksBricks by John Davidson, Anaiah Press
Release Date: 2/3/15

Author John Davidson will be joining me for an interview on his new book here at The Story Sanctuary next week!

dragons-at-crumbling-castleDragons at Crumbling Castle and Other Tales by Sir Terry Pratchett, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date: 2/3/15

This is a collection of 14 stories, and it looks simply too fun. I’ve never read anything by Pratchett before, but he’s a favorite of many. I’m anxious to give it a go, and eager to read some short stories for a bit of a change from the pace of novels.

seekerSeeker by Arwen Elys Dayton, Random House Children’s
Release Date: 2/10/15

I’m probably about half-way through with this novel and it’s been a pretty wild ride so far. The point-of-view alternates between characters, and I’m enjoying getting the different perspectives on what’s happening from each viewpoint.

two-renegade-realmsTwo Renegade Realms by Donita K. Paul, Zondervan – HarperCollins
Release Date: 12/23/14

The first book in this series was great, and I’m eager to get into this one. My daughter is in fourth grade, and this is definitely a series on my radar as something she would enjoy. I think older readers would like it, too.

skinnySkinny by Laura L. Smith, Status Updates, Second Edition
Release Date: 12/1/14

Skinny originally released in 2008, and I read it that year, but did not review it. I’ll be giving it another go this time so I can post my thoughts here. Laura L. Smith has a great sense of teen issues and a bold style that confronts without judging. I recently enjoyed her Status Updates Series and am eager to read more of her work.

a-plague-of-unicornsA Plague of Unicorns by Jane Yolen, Zondervan, HarperCollins
Release Date: 12/23/14

I’m still waiting to receive this one in the mail, but I’ve loved other stories by Jane Yolen. I’m definitely excited to read this one.

shadow-scaleShadow Scale by Rachel Hartman, Random House Children’s
Release Date: 3/10/15

I’m pretty much a total sucker for a Random House Children’s release. I want to have lunch with their acquisitions editor(s) and talk shop. I’ve liked nearly every release I’ve read. But now I’m gushing. Anyway, Shadow Scale is the sequel to the highly praised Seraphina, which I have not read (I’m not picky about that sort of thing) about a girl who is part human, part dragon in a world in which these two groups share an uneasy alliance. I am intrigued by the prejudicial elements and and the possibilities of the messages of hope and acceptance there. Plus, dragons. I’m excited.

silverwood Silverwood by Betsy Streeter, Light Messages Publishing
Release Date: 3/11/15

I recently read and enjoyed Since You’ve Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne about a girl living on the run. This sounds a little bit like that storyline (life on the run) only with fantasy elements.

the-walls-around-usThe Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma, Algonquin Books – Algonquin Young Readers
Release Date: 3/24/15

Though it’s not out for two months, I’ve heard some really great things about this novel. The premise is really intriguing. The story is told from the points of view of two girls and relates the details of a third girl’s story. The truth lies somewhere between the two narrators’ versions.

Tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

Comments are closed.