13 Most-Anticipated Middle Grade Books Out Fall 2020

13 Most-Anticipated Middle Grade Books Coming Fall 2020

Great Middle Grade Books Coming This Fall

It’s finally fall! A new season and new fantastic middle grade books coming out soon to usher in the spooky season and the cooler weather. (Well, thoughts of cooler weather, anyway. Here in Florida, we have a while yet before we get a real break from the heat.)

I’m not usually a big Halloween girl– I was raised not celebrating, so I guess I’ve never really gotten into the holiday as an adult. This year, though, there are some spooky books on my wish list that I think will be perfect for readers looking for a deliciously creepy crawly read.

There are also some great stories about relationships and celebrating the arts, like writing, ballet, and figure skating. I’m super excited about reading those.

One book on the list is particularly special as it’s the story of an unlikely friendship between a Palestinian man and an Isreaeli woman. An inspiring story about friendship crossing boundaries like that is something we all need.

For the books on this list that I’ve already read, you’ll notice a link to my review. I’ll try to come back and update the list as I post new reviews, so it should be pretty current. You can also browse the titles on Goodreads and see what other readers are saying.

Note: This post contains affiliate links.

13 Middle Grade Books Out Fall 2020 (Plus 3 August Titles You May Have Missed)

The Summer We Found the Baby by Amy Hest

The Summer We Found the Baby by Amy Hest

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: During World War II, two sisters vacationing at a beach house find a baby on the steps of the library.

Available August 4, 2020 | My review


Believe by Julie Mathison

Believe by Julie Mathison

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A sweet, imaginative story about a girl dealing with grief and loneliness and a class putting together the play, PETER PAN. Funny and heartfelt.

Available August 4, 2020 | My review


Kiki MacAdoo and the Graveyard Ballerinas

Kiki MacAdoo and the Graveyard Ballerinas by Colette Sewall

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A forest where “Ballets come alive.” A missing sister and the ballet, Giselle, featuring ghostly sylphs who will try to force Kiki to dance until she dies.

Available August 4, 2020


The Circus of Stolen Dreams by Lorelei Savaryn

The Circus of Stolen Dreams by Lorelei Savaryn

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What You Need to Know: A sister looking for her lost brother. A magical circus where the cost of entry is a memory. For fans of CIRCUS MIRANDUS and THE NIGHT GARDENER.

Published September 1, 2020


Three Keys by Kelly Yang

Three Keys (Front Desk #2) by Kelly Yang

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What You Need to Know: Great friends. An aspiring writer and motel owner facing a roller coaster of challenges. Immigration laws that could jeopardize everything she cares about.

Published September 15, 2020


The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What You Need to Know: A novel in verse. A Latinx girl in a family detention center for migrants and regufees. Aztec mythology.

Published September 15, 2020


Double the Danger and Zero Zucchini by Betsy Uhrig

Double the Danger and Zero Zucchini by Betsy Uhrig

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What You Need to Know: A boy gets hired by his aunt to help her fix her children’s book about a grumpy frog and prize-winning zucchini. Sounds hilarious to me!

Published September 22, 2020


Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron

Maya and the Rising Dark by Rena Barron

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What You Need to Know: Perfect for fans of ARU SHAH AND THE END OF TIME. A girl’s quest to find her father and save our world from evil beyond.

Published September 22, 2020


The Silver Box by Margi Preus

The Silver Box by Margi Preus

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Francie Frye, a reluctant northwoods Nancy Drew tackles her third mystery and hopes to uncover the truth about her mother.

Available October 6, 2020 | My Review


The Fallen Hero by Katie Zhao

The Fallen Hero (Dragon Warrior #2) by Katie Zhao

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: Sequel to The Dragon Warrior. A brother set on revenge. A sister who must save him. High adventure and Chinese mythology in a modern-day setting.

Available October 6, 2020


Cinders and Sparrows by Stefan Bachman

Cinders and Sparrows by Stefan Bachmann

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A suspenseful tale of witches, family, and magic. Perfect for fans of Diana Wynn Jones, Victoria Schwab, and Kate Milford.

Available October 13, 2020


The Monster of Marnmouth Valley by CJ Greene

The Monster of Marnmouth Valley by CJ Greene

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A land in peril since a monster has started drinking all the water. A 12-year-old fated to aid an elderly woman to save the village, if only she can pry her away from her knitting.

Available October 15, 2020


Anna on the Edge by A J Sass

Ana on the Edge by A. J. Sass

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A figure skating champion. Gender identity issues and friendship.

Available October 20, 2020


Aster's Good Right Things by Kate Gordon

Aster’s Good, Right Things by Kate Gordon

Book Depository | Goodreads

What you need to know: A girl compelled to do secret good deeds. A boy in princess pajamas who helps her.

Available November 1, 2020


The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A brand new, middle grade edition of the beloved book that inspired the movie starring Anne Hathaway and Julie Andrews.

Available November 3, 2020


The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan

The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan (Young Readers’ Edition)

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

What you need to know: A Palestinian and an Israeli sit on the steps of the home where each grew up and begin a surprising friendship. Based on Tolan’s extensive research and reporting.

Available November 3, 2020

What’s on your fall reading list?

Are any of these middle grade books on your fall 2020 reading list? What books are you most looking forward to reading this fall?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey Giard

I'm a mama, reader, and writer. Passionate about peppermint (it's not just for Christmas, okay?!), fly fishing, and movie night.

4 Responses to 13 Most-Anticipated Middle Grade Books Out Fall 2020

  1. I’m really looking forward to Three Keys and The Fallen Warrior. Thanks for the great list.

  2. Cyla Panin says:

    Great recs! I love, love, love Circus of Stolen Dreams!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge