Review: Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux by Ellen O'Clover

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux
Ellen O’Clover
HarperTeen
Published January 17, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

A clever, charming, and poignant debut novel about a girl who must decide whether to pursue her dreams or preserve her relationships, including a budding romance with her ex-best friend, when an app she created goes viral.

Ro Devereux can predict your future. Or, at least, the app she built for her senior project can.

Working with her neighbor, a retired behavioral scientist, Ro created an app called MASH, designed around the classic game Mansion Apartment Shack House, that can predict a person’s future with 93% accuracy. The app will even match users with their soul mates. Though it was only supposed to be a class project, MASH quickly takes off and gains the attention of tech investors.

Ro’s dream is to work in Silicon Valley, and she’ll do anything to prove to her new backing company—and the world—that the app works. So it’s a huge shock when the app says her soul mate is Miller, her childhood best friend with whom she had a friendship-destroying fight three years ago. Now thrust into a fake dating scenario, Ro and Miller must address the years of pain between them if either of them will have any chance of achieving their dreams.

Fans of Emma Lord and Alex Light will love this stand-alone contemporary novel with a masterful slow-burn romance at its core.

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux on Goodreads

My Review

Okay, yes: I totally see the comparison to Emma Lord’s books with this one. It’s got big emotions, deep characters, and swoony love. All things I’ve experienced in Lord’s books, too.

And all things I loved about SEVEN PERCENT OF RO DEVEREUX.

It’s another book that made me absolutely weep. Ro grieves over the loss of a friend. She’s in anguish over the rift between her and her childhood bestie. (This is a friends-to-enemies-to-lovers story.)

I loved Ro’s relationship with her dad. They definitely do not see eye to eye on how she should proceed with the MASH app and even with her life after high school, but though he has to make some hard parenting decisions, he clearly loves and supports Ro through it all, even when he’s trying to warn her of bumps in the road he sees ahead for her.

I also loved Ro’s relationships with her friends, Maren and Miller. Her memories from her childhood and the transition to the present pulled me deep into the story and had me so invested in her relationship with Miller. And I couldn’t help loving Maren. She’s awesome, too.

All in all, I’d say this one was a big win for me. It’s a debut, so an author I’d never read before, and it’ll be a strong contender for favorite of the year, I believe.

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux on Bookshop

Content Notes

Recommended for Ages 14 up.

Representation
Ro’s best friend Maren starts dating a girl.

Profanity/Crude Language Content
Extreme profanity used somewhat frequently.

Romance/Sexual Content
Ro remembers a boy assaulting and attempting to rape her. Kissing between two girls. Kissing between boy and girl. A boy and girl spend a night together.

Spiritual Content
None.

Violent Content
A violent crowd injures a boy.

Drug Content
At 15, Ro drank alcohol at a party.

Note: This post contains affiliate links, which do not cost you anything to use, but which help support this blog. I received a free copy of SEVEN PERCENT OF RO DEVEREUX in exchange for my honest review.


Tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

About Kasey

Reads things. Writes things. Fluent in sarcasm. Willful optimist. Cat companion, chocolate connoisseur, coffee drinker. There are some who call me Mom.

2 Responses to Review: Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

  1. Totally agree, this one was WONDERFUL! So glad you loved it as much as I did! Great review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *