Review: The Queen Bee and Me by Gillian McDunn

The Queen Bee and Me by Gillian McDunn

The Queen Bee and Me
Gillian McDunn
Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Published March 3, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Queen Bee and Me

Meg has been friends with confident, self-assured Beatrix since kindergarten. She’s always found comfort in Beatrix’s shadow—even their families call them Beatrix-and-Meg. But middle school has brought some changes in Beatrix, especially when Meg tries to step outside her role as sidekick. Upsetting Beatrix means risking The Freeze—or worse.

Meg gets into a special science elective … Continue reading

Review: Porch Swing Girl by Taylor Bennett

Porch Swing Girl by Taylor Bennett

Porch Swing Girl
Taylor Bennett
Mountain Brook Ink
Published May 1, 2018

Amazon | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Porch Swing Girl

What if friendship cost you everything?

Stranded in Hawaii after the death of her mother, sixteen-year-old Olive Galloway is desperate to escape. She has to get back to Boston before her dad loses all common sense and sells the family house. But plane tickets cost money—something Olive gravely lacks.

With the help of Brander, the fussy youth group worship leader, and Jazz, a mysterious girl with a passion for all things Hawaiian, Olive lands a summer job at … Continue reading

Review: Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy

Now a Major Motion Picture by Cori McCarthy

Now a Major Motion Picture
Cori McCarthy
Sourcebooks Fire
Published April 3, 2018

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Now a Major Motion Picture

Fandom and first love collide for Iris on the film set for her grandmother’s famous high-fantasy trilogy.

Unlike the rest of the world, Iris doesn’t care about the famous high-fantasy Elementia books written by M. E. Thorne. So it’s just a little annoying that M. E. Thorne is her grandmother—and that Iris has to deal with the trilogy’s … Continue reading

Review: Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers

Cracked Up to Be by Courtney Summers

Cracked Up to Be
Courtney Summers
Wednesday Books
Published (re-release) February 4, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Cracked Up to Be

When “Perfect” Parker Fadley starts drinking at school and failing her classes, all of St. Peter’s High goes on alert. How has the cheerleading captain, girlfriend of the most popular guy in school, consummate teacher’s pet, and future valedictorian fallen so far from grace?

Parker doesn’t want to talk about it. She’d just like to be left alone, to … Continue reading

Review: Chirp by Kate Messner

Chirp by Kate Messner

Chirp
Kate Messner
Bloomsbury USA Children’s
Published February 4, 2020

Amazon |Book Depository | Goodreads

About Chirp

From acclaimed author Kate Messner comes the powerful story of a young girl with the courage to make her voice heard, set against the backdrop of a summertime mystery.

When Mia moves to Vermont the summer after seventh grade, she’s recovering from the broken arm she got falling off a balance beam. And packed away in the moving boxes under her clothes and gymnastics trophies is a secret she’d rather forget.

Mia’s change in scenery brings day camp, new friends, and time with her beloved grandmother. … Continue reading

Review: The Map from Here to There by Emery Lord

The Map from Here to There by Emery Lord cover shows a cluttered dresser top beneath a cracked mirror

The Map From Here to There
Emery Lord
Bloomsbury YA
Published January 7, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Map From Here to There

Acclaimed author Emery Lord crafts a gorgeous story of friendship and identity, daring to ask: What happens after happily ever after?

It’s senior year, and Paige Hancock is finally living her best life. She has a fun summer job, great friends, and a super charming boyfriend who … Continue reading

Review: It’s My Life by Stacie Ramey

It's My Life by Stacie Ramey cover shows profile of girl wearing a baseball cap.

It’s My Life
Stacie Ramey
Sourcebooks Fire
Published January 1, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About It’s My Life

If she wants a future with him, she’ll have to make peace with her past.

Jenna’s never let her cerebral palsy get her down. But when she discovers that her condition was actually caused by an injury at birth, she’s furious with her parents, who withheld the truth. And as they push her to get … Continue reading

Review: Not if I Can Help It by Carolyn Mackler

Not If I Can Help It by Carolyn Mackler

Not If I Can Help It
Carolyn Mackler
Scholastic Press
July 30, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Not If I Can Help It

Willa likes certain things to be certain ways. Her socks have to be soft . . . and definitely can’t have irritating tags on the inside. She loves the crunch of popcorn and nachos . . . but is grossed out by the crunch of a baby carrot. And slimy foods? Those are the worst.

Continue reading

Review: Coral by Sara Ella

Coral by Sara Ella

Coral
Sara Ella
Thomas Nelson
Published November 12, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About Coral

There is more than one way to drown.

Coral has always been different, standing out from her mermaid sisters in a society where blending in is key. Worse yet, she fears she has been afflicted with the dreaded Disease, said to be carried by humans—emotions. Can she face the darkness long enough to surface in the light?

Above the sea, Brooke has nothing left to give. Depression and anxiety have … Continue reading

Review: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

The How and the Why
Cynthia Hand
HarperTeen
Published November 5, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The How and the Why

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She … Continue reading

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...