Review: Deep Is the Fen by Lili Wilkinson

Deep is the Fen by Lili Wilkinson

Deep Is the Fen
Lili Wilkinson
Delacorte Press
Published April 16, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Deep Is the Fen

Merry doesn’t need a happily-ever-after. Her life in the charming, idyllic town of Candlecott is fine just as it is. Simple, happy, and with absolutely no magic. Magic only ever leads to trouble.

But Merry’s best friend, Teddy, is joining the Toadmen—a secret society who specialize in backward thinking and suspiciously supernatural traditions—and Merry is determined to stop him. Even if it means teaming up with the person she hates most: her academic archnemesis, Caraway Boswell, an ice-cold snob who … Continue reading

Review: Calling of Light by Lori M. Lee

Calling of Light by Lori M. Lee

Calling of Light (Shamanborn #3)
Lori M. Lee
Page Street Press
Published April 6, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Calling of Light

Danger lurks within the roots of FOREST OF SOULS, an epic, unrelenting tale of destiny and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Susan Dennard, and Netflix’s THE WITCHER!

Sirscha Ashwyn comes from nothing, but she’s intent on becoming something. After years of training to become the queen’s next royal spy, her plans are derailed when shamans attack and kill her best friend Saengo.

And then Sirscha, somehow, restores Saengo to life.

Unveiled as the first soulguide in living memory, Sirscha … Continue reading

Review: This Is Me Trying by Racquel Marie

This is Me Trying by Racquel Marie

This Is Me Trying
Racquel Marie
Feiwel & Friends
Published

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About This Is Me Trying

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, This is Me Trying is a profound and tender YA contemporary novel exploring grief, love, and guilt from author Racquel Marie.

Growing up, Bryce, Beatriz, and Santiago were inseparable. But when Santiago moved away before high school, their friendship crumbled. Three years later, Bryce is gone, Beatriz is known as the dead boy’s girlfriend, and Santiago is back.

The last thing Beatriz wants is to reunite with Santiago, who left all her messages unanswered while she drowned … Continue reading

Review: Dragonfruit by Makiia Lucier

Dragonfruit by Makiia Lucier

Dragonfruit
Makiia Lucier
Clarion Books
Published April 9, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Dragonfruit

From acclaimed author Makiia Lucier, a dazzling, romantic fantasy inspired by Pacific Island mythology.

In the old tales, it is written that the egg of a seadragon, dragonfruit, holds within it the power to undo a person’s greatest sorrow. An unwanted marriage, a painful illness, and unpaid debt … gone. But as with all things that promise the moon and the stars and offer hope when hope has gone, the tale comes with a warning.

Every wish demands a price.

Hanalei of Tamarind is the cherished daughter of an … Continue reading

Review: I Like Helping People… What Jobs Are There? by Amanda Learmonth and Elise Gaignet

I Like Helping People... What Jobs Are There by Amanda Learmonth

I Like Helping People… What Jobs Are There? (That’s a Job Series)
Amanda Learmonth
Illustrated by Elise Gaignet
Kane Miller
Published October 1, 2021

Kane Miller Website | Bookshop | Goodreads

About I Like Helping People… What Jobs Are There?

For children who are inspired by helping others, this latest in the series takes readers through a day-in-the-life of 25 key workers. From medicine to social work to all kinds of helpers, they’ll learn about a paramedic’s best part of the day—saving lives—as well as a postal worker’s pet peeve—over-excited pets, and much more.

Continue reading

Review: The Final Curse of Ophelia Cray by Christine Calella

The Final Curse of Ophelia Cray by Christine Callela

The Final Curse of Ophelia Cray
Christine Calella
Page Street Press
Published April 9, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About The Final Curse of Ophelia Cray

Storms and pirates are nothing compared to the evil within men’s hearts.

After a lifetime of abuse at the hands of superstitious townsfolk, Ophelia Young, a bastard child of the notorious pirate queen, is tired of paying for the sins of her mother. Despite playing by the rules her whole life, she’s earned nothing but spite and suspicion. So when a naval officer saves her from the jeering crowd at her mother’s hanging, Ophelia … Continue reading