Review: Keeper of the Lost Cities: The Graphic Novel Part 1 by Shannon Messenger, Celina Frenn, and Gabriella Chianello

Keeper of the Lost Cities The Graphic Novel Volume 1 by Shannon Messenger

Keeper of the Lost Cities: The Graphic Novel Part 1
Shannon Messenger
Adapted by Celina Frenn
Illustrated by Gabriella Chianello
Aladdin Books
Published November 7, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Keeper of the Lost Cities: The Graphic Novel Part 1

The first book in the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling Keeper of the Lost Cities series is being reimagined as a graphic novel with the first half of the epic novel adapted to this new format with beautiful artwork!

Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster has never quite fit into her life. She’s skipped multiple grades … Continue reading

Review: Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel by James Howe, Andrew Donkin, and Stephen Gilpin

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel by James Howe, Andrew Donkin, and Stephen Gilpin

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel
James How and Andrew Donkin
Illustrated by Stephen Gilpin
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Published August 30, 2022

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel

Celebrate over forty years of the modern classic BUNNICULA with this graphic novelization!

Beware the hare!

Harold the dog and Chester the cat must find out the truth about the newest pet in the Monroe household—a suspicious-looking bunny with unusual habits…and fangs! Could this innocent-seeming rabbit actually be a vampire?

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel on Goodreads

My Review

I … Continue reading

Review: Duel by Jessixa and Aaron Bagley

Duel by Jessixa and Aaron Bagley cover shows two girls wearing backpacks, standing with their backs to one another. One girl's arms are crossed. Their shadows cross fencing swords.

Duel
Jessixa Bagley
Illustrated by Aaron Bagley
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published November 7, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Duel

A rivalry between sisters culminates in a fencing duel in this funny and emotional debut graphic novel sure to appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeier and Shannon Hale.

Sixth grader Lucy loves fantasy novels and is brand-new to middle school. GiGi is the undisputed queen bee of eighth grade (as well as everything else she does). … Continue reading

Best Young Adult Books I Read From Summer 2023

24 Best Young Adult Books of Summer 2023

At the start of the summer, I had all these grand plans of lists to share and updates to post… and then reality hit like a stack of overdue library books. Don’t get me wrong– I had a great summer, but it was a much busier summer than I predicted. Between family responsibilities, work, and my out-of-control review calendar (Yep, I’m still struggling to say yes to fewer books. It was much easier before I knew so many irresistible books were coming out!), most of my glorious plans went out the window.

Now that school is back in session, I’m ready to catch up a bit on things I missed. One such thing was … Continue reading

Review: Squire by Sara Alfageeh and Nadia Shammas

Squire by Sara Alfageeh and Nadia Shammas

Squire
Sara Alfageeh
Nadia Shammas
Quill Tree Books
Published March 8, 2022

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Squire

Aiza has always dreamt of becoming a Knight. It’s the highest military honor in the once-great Bayt-Sajji Empire, and as a member of the subjugated Ornu people, Knighthood is her only path to full citizenship. Ravaged by famine and mounting tensions, Bayt-Sajji finds itself on the brink of war once again, so Aiza can finally enlist in the competitive Squire training program.

It’s not how she imagined it, though. Aiza must navigate new friendships, rivalries, and rigorous training under the unyielding General Hende, all while hiding her Ornu … Continue reading

Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang cover shows a girl with a measuring tape facing a boy in formal wear. She holds a measuring tape and looks into his face. In the background, there's a large image of a red-haired girl in a dress looking over her shoulder toward the couple.

The Prince and the Dressmaker
Jen Wang
First Second
Published February 13, 2018

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About The Prince and the Dressmaker

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride―or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian … Continue reading