Review: She Gets the Girl by Rachel Lippincott and Alyson Derrick

She Gets the Girl by Rachel Lippincott and Alyson Derrick

She Gets the Girl
Rachel Lippincott and Alyson Derrick
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published April 5, 2022

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About She Gets the Girl

Alex Blackwood is a little bit headstrong, with a dash of chaos and a whole lot of flirt. She knows how to get the girl. Keeping her on the other hand…not so much. Molly Parker has everything in her life totally in control, except for her complete awkwardness with just about anyone besides her mom. She knows she’s in love with the impossibly cool Cora Myers. She just…hasn’t actually talked to her yet.

Alex and Molly don’t belong on … Continue reading

Review: And They Lived by Steven Salvatore

And They Lived by Steven Salvatore

And They Lived . . .
Steven Salvatore
Bloomsbury YA
Published March 8, 2022

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About And They Lived . . .

Chase Arthur is a budding animator and hopeless romantic obsessed with Disney films and finding his true love, but he’s plagued with the belief that he’s not enough for anyone: he’s recovering from an eating disorder and suffers from body dysmorphia fueled by his father, and can’t quite figure out his gender identity. When Chase starts his freshman year of college, he has to navigate being away from home and missing his sister, finding his squad, and contending with his ex-best friend Leila who is gunning for the same exclusive mentorship. If … Continue reading

Review: You’ve Reached Sam by Dustin Thao

You've Reached Sam by Dustin Thao

You’ve Reached Sam
Dustin Thao
Wednesday Books
Published November 9, 2021

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About You’ve Reached Sam

Seventeen-year-old Julie has her future all planned out—move out of her small town with her boyfriend Sam, attend college in the city, spend a summer in Japan. But then Sam dies. And everything changes.

Heartbroken, Julie skips his funeral, throws out his things, and tries everything to forget him and the tragic way he died. But a message Sam left behind in her yearbook forces back memories. Desperate to hear his voice one more time, Julie calls Sam’s cellphone … Continue reading

Review: Undecided by Genevieve Morgan

Undecided by Genevieve Morgan

Undecided (2nd Edition)
Genevieve Morgan
Zest Books
Published October 6, 2020

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Undecided

For high school students all over the country, figuring out what to do after graduation is a major question. For many, the logical answer is continuing their education, whether in a training program, a community college, or a four-year university. But no matter what the path, the preparation can be overwhelming, and it’s hard to know where to start.

That’s where “Undecided” comes in! This comprehensive handbook outlines the different options available to teens after high school and provides suggestions on how to follow each path efficiently and successfully. It covers everything … Continue reading

Review: The Map from Here to There by Emery Lord

The Map from Here to There by Emery Lord cover shows a cluttered dresser top beneath a cracked mirror

The Map From Here to There
Emery Lord
Bloomsbury YA
Published January 7, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The Map From Here to There

Acclaimed author Emery Lord crafts a gorgeous story of friendship and identity, daring to ask: What happens after happily ever after?

It’s senior year, and Paige Hancock is finally living her best life. She has a fun summer job, great friends, and a super … Continue reading

Review: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

The How and the Why
Cynthia Hand
HarperTeen
Published November 5, 2019

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Goodreads

About The How and the Why

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for … Continue reading