Review: The Boyfriend Wish by Swati Teerdhala

The Boyfriend Wish by Swati Teerdhala

The Boyfriend Wish
Swati Teerdhala
Katherine Tegen Books
Published February 13, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About The Boyfriend Wish

A charming romantic comedy about a South Indian American teen girl who makes a wish upon a flower for her perfect boyfriend…and then a new boy moves in right next door. With love triangles, prank wars, and a sizzling sweet romance—this is perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Jenny Han.

Deepa’s a hopeless romantic. And even though Deepa’s checklist for the perfect boyfriend is a mile long, her mom and dad’s fairy-tale love story makes her feel like romantic success ought … Continue reading

Review: The Awakening Storm by Jaimal Yogis and Vivian Truong

The Awakening Storm (City of Dragons #1) by Jaimal Yogis and Vivian Truong cover shows a girl with dark hair and a backpack. She stands in an alleyway between two tall buildings. A blue water dragon is looped around her body. Other dragon tales extend from a few of the windows of the buildings around her.

The Awakening Storm (City of Dragons #1)
Jaimal Yogis
Illustrated by Vivian Truong
Graphix
Published September 21, 2021

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About The Awakening Storm

Grace and her friends must protect a newly hatched dragon from mysterious evildoers.

When Grace moves to Hong Kong with her mom and … Continue reading

Review: A Bit of Earth by Karuna Riazi

A Bit of Earth by Karuna Riazi cover shows a girl looking back over her shoulder toward the camera. In the background is a tall tree whose leaves form a path, winding around the tree and swirling around the girl.

A Bit of Earth
Karuna Riazi
Greenwillow Books
Published March 14, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About A Bit of Earth

Maria Latif is used to not having a space of her own. But what happens when she feels the sudden urge to put down roots in the most unexpected of places?

Growing up in Pakistan, Maria Latif has been bounced between reluctant relatives for as long as she can remember–first because of her parents’ … Continue reading

20 Most-Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming Winter 2024

20 Most-Anticipated YA Books Coming Winter 2024

20 Most-Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming Winter 2024

I’m scurrying to catch up from a long Christmas celebration with family and friends, but at last– here I am with a list of young adult books coming out in January and February that I can’t wait to read.

As you can tell from the list, my interests generally land somewhere near contemporary romance and fantasy. I’m also trying to catch up on the Remixed Classics series, which I’ve only read a couple of novels from so far. (I loved both the books I read.)

Note: This list contains affiliate links that don’t cost anything for you to use but do generate support for this blog … Continue reading

Review: No Time Like Now by Naz Kutub

No Time Like Now by Naz Kutub

No Time Like Now
Naz Kutub
Bloomsbury YA
Published February 6, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About No Time Like Now

A teen finds himself in a race against time when he learns he’s given away more years than he has left to live in this thought-provoking speculative romp.

It’s been one year since Hazeem’s father passed away unexpectedly, and one year since Hazeem got his special ability: He can grant any living thing extra time. Since then, he’s been randomly granting people more years to live: his old friend Holly, his study buddy Yamany, his crush Jack. . . . The only problem … Continue reading

Review: Destroy the Day by Brigid Kemmerer

Destroy the Day by Brigid Kemmerer

Destroy the Day (Defy the Night #3)
Brigid Kemmerer
Bloomsbury YA
Published January 23, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Destroy the Day

Left for dead, but desperate to survive . . . they have one last chance to save their kingdom.

Prince Corrick is out of options. Held captive by the vicious Oren Crane, he’s desperate to reunite with Tessa, but will need to ally with the rebel leader Lochlan, who until now wished him dead. An unlikely but deadly pair, Corrick and Lochlan must plot their next moves carefully.

An island away, Tessa Cade is heartbroken and angry. Grieving Corrick, and unsure how to find a … Continue reading