Review: Camp Prodigy by Caroline Palmer

Camp Prodigy by Caroline Palmer

Camp Prodigy
Caroline Palmer
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Published June 11, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Camp Prodigy

Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson and Raina Telgemeier, this heartwarming middle grade graphic novel follows two nonbinary kids who navigate anxiety and identity while having fun and forming friendships at their summer orchestra camp.

After attending an incredible concert, Tate Seong is inspired to become a professional violist. There’s just one they’re the worst musician at their school. Tate doesn’t even have enough confidence to assert themself with their friends or come out as nonbinary to their family, let alone attempt a … Continue reading

Review: Give Me a Sign by Anna Sortino

Give Me a Sign by Anna Sortino cover shows a girl on the left in a tank top and shorts with her hands one on top of the other with her index finger and thumb extended. Sitting next to her is a boy in a hoodie and shorts with his hands in front of his body, his index finger and pinky extended. Tall grass and flowers in the background behind them.

Give Me a Sign
Anna Sortino
G. P. Putnam & Sons
Published July 11, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Give Me a Sign

Jenny Han meets CODA in this big-hearted YA debut about first love and Deaf pride at a summer camp.

Lilah … Continue reading

Review: Andy and the Extroverts by Jessica K. Foster

Andy and the Extroverts by Jessica K. Foster cover shows a girl peeking over her sunglasses, her arms crossed. She's holding a coffee cup and wearing a black long-sleeved shirt and ripped jeans. Behind her are a forest and three people in the distance.

Andy and the Extroverts
Jessica K. Foster
Winding Road Stories
Published May 16, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Andy and the Extroverts

Seventeen-year-old bookish Andy has no friends. When her over-involved mother has the audacity to ship her off to summer leadership camp, she’s thrust into an introvert’s nightmare. Everyone is a Communicator with a capital C, icebreaker activities are … Continue reading

Review: Amari and the Night Brothers by B. B. Alston

Amari and the Night Brothers by B. B. Alston cover shows a girl with a hand extended over a glowing ball. Swirls of light extend out from the ball, circling around her, lifting her hair.

Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1)
B. B. Alston
Balzer + Bray
Published January 19, 2021

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Amari and the Night Brothers

Quinton Peters was the golden boy of the Rosewood low-income housing projects, receiving full scholarship offers to two different Ivy League schools. When he mysteriously goes missing, his little sister, 13-year-old Amari Peters, can’t understand why it’s not a bigger deal. Why isn’t his story all over the news? And why do … Continue reading

Top Ten Tuesday: Super-Fun Summer Camp Books

18 Fun Summer Camp Books for Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Super-Fun Summer Camp Books

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again! This week’s theme is best books for summer, which is a perfect chance to talk about beach reads… but I’m not much of a beach girl? I burn way too easily. So, instead, let’s talk about another favorite summer activity: summer camp!

Whether it’s the story of a first-time camp experience or simply the tale of camp attendance as a means to an end, excellent summer camp books capture the immersive experience of being away from home. They spin stories of unexpected friendships and wacky inside jokes. They remind us to celebrate being in nature and being part of a team or group.

I’ve included … Continue reading

Review: Julieta and the Romeos by Maria E. Andreu

Julieta and the Romeos by Marie E. Andreu cover shows a girl holding a pen thinking at a desk. In front of her is an open book and mug. Roses extend toward her from the edges of the image.

Julieta and the Romeos
Maria E. Andreu
Balzer + Bray
Published May 16, 2023

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Julieta and the Romeos

You’ve Got Mail meets a YA Beach Read with a bookish mystery at its heart in the newest rom-com from Maria E. Andreu. The ideal next read for fans of Emily Henry, Kasie West, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Julieta isn’t looking for her Romeo–but she is writing about love. When her summer writing teacher encourages the class to … Continue reading