Review: We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon

We Can't Keep Meeting Like This by Rachel Lynn Solomon

We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This
Rachel Lynn Solomon
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published June 8, 2021

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About We Can’t Keep Meeting Like This

Quinn Berkowitz and Tarek Mansour’s families have been in business together for years: Quinn’s parents are wedding planners, and Tarek’s own a catering company. At the end of last summer, Quinn confessed her crush on him in the form of a rambling email—and then he left for college without a response.

Quinn has been dreading seeing him again almost as much as she dreads another summer playing the harp for her parents’ weddings. When … Continue reading

Review: Breathing Underwater by Sarah Allen

Breathing Underwater by Sarah Allen

Breathing Underwater
Sarah Allen
Farrar Strauss & Giroux
Published March 30, 2021

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Breathing Underwater

Olivia is on the road trip of her dreams, with her trusty camera and her big sister Ruth by her side. Three years ago, before their family moved from California to Tennessee, Olivia and Ruth buried a time capsule on their favorite beach. Now, they’re taking an RV back across the country to uncover the memories they left behind. But Ruth’s depression has been getting worse, so Olivia has created a plan to help her remember how life used to be: a makeshift scavenger hunt … Continue reading

Review: Can’t Take That Away by Steven Salvatore

Can't Take That Away by Steven Salvatore

Can’t Take That Away
Steven Salvatore
Bloomsbury YA
Published March 9, 2021

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Can’t Take That Away

An empowering and emotional debut about a genderqueer teen who finds the courage to stand up and speak out for equality when they are discriminated against by their high school administration.

Carey Parker dreams of being a diva, and bringing the house down with song. They can hit every note of all the top pop and Broadway hits. But despite their talent, emotional scars from an incident with a homophobic classmate … Continue reading

Review: Amina’s Song by Hena Khan

Amina's Song by Hena Khan

Amina’s Song
Hena Khan
Simon & Schuster / Salaam Reads
Published March 9, 2021

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Amina’s Song

It’s the last few days of her vacation in Pakistan, and Amina has loved every minute of it. The food, the shops, the time she’s spent with her family—all of it holds a special place in Amina’s heart. Now that the school year is starting again, she’s sad to leave, but also excited to share the wonders of Pakistan with her friends back in Greendale.

After she’s home, though, her friends don’t seem overly interested … Continue reading

Review: Smash It! by Francina Simone

Smash It by Francina Simone

Smash It!
Francina Simone
Inkyard Press
Published September 22, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Smash It!

Refreshingly authentic and bold… Don’t miss this smashing #ownvoices novel from Francina Simone! Filled with heart, humor and a heroine to root for, Smash It! is a perfect read for fans of Julie Murphy, Ibi Zoboi and Ashley Poston.

Olivia “Liv” James is done with letting her insecurities get the best of her. So she does what any self-respecting hot mess of … Continue reading

Review: How Sweet the Sound by Laura L. Smith

How Sweet the Sound by Laura L. Smith

How Sweet the Sound: The Power and Promise of 30 Beloved Hymns
Laura L. Smith
Our Daily Bread Publishing
Published August 4, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About How Sweet the Sound

If you love singing and listening to hymns, this book is for you! Hymns are a special kind of music, packed with truth, redemption, … Continue reading