Review: Takedown by Ali Bryan

Takedown by Ali Bryan

Takedown
Ali Bryan
DCB Young Readers
Published May 11, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Takedown

Sixteen-year-old star wrestler Rowan Harper’s biggest fan is her father.

But he has ALS, and his symptoms are getting worse. Saving his life will cost more money than the family has, but Rowan finds a solution. Will she risk her chances at a scholarship by competing in a lucrative, but illegal, underground MMA fight?

Takedown is a high-intensity coming-of-age story about family illness and competitive combat, with lots of heart, hope, and headlocks.

Takedown on Goodreads

My Review

This … Continue reading

Review: Pillow Talk by Stephanie Cooke and Mel Valentine Vargas

Pillow Talk by Stephanie Cooke and Mel Valentine Vargas

Pillow Talk
Stephanie Cooke
Illustrated by Mel Valentine Vargas
HarperAlley
Published April 30, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Pillow Talk

Grace Mendes a.k.a. Cinderhella is a fierce competitor in the PFF, a pillow fight federation that’s part roller derby, part professional wrestling. But in this fresh, coming-of-age YA graphic novel, Grace needs to learn to overcome her biggest enemy: herself. For fans of Check, Please and Bloom.

When college freshman Grace Mendes reluctantly attends her first pillow fight match, she falls in love with the surprisingly gritty sport. Despite her usually shy, introverted, and reserved nature, Grace decides to try out for … Continue reading

Review: The Misdirection of Fault Lines by Anna Gracia

The Misdirection of Fault Lines by Anna Gracia

The Misdirection of Fault Lines
Anna Gracia
Peachtree Teen
Published April 2, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About The Misdirection of Fault Lines

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants goes to the US Open in an emotionally honest and openhearted novel for fans of Yamile Saied Méndez and Jenny Han.

Three teen girls compete at an elite tennis tournament for a shot at their dreams—if only they knew what their dreams were.

Alice doesn’t belong at the Bastille Invitational Tennis Tournament. She needed a sponsorship to attend. She only has a few wins on the junior circuit. And now, she has no … Continue reading

Review: Breathing Underwater by Abbey Lee Nash

Breathing Underwater by Abbey Lee Nash

Breathing Underwater
Abbey Lee Nash
Holiday House
Published March 5, 2024

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Breathing Underwater

In this slice-of-life, sensitively written novel, a teen girl grapples with a sudden epilepsy diagnosis, all while figuring out a new crush and an uncertain future.

Seventeen-year-old Tess Cooper lives by three train hard, study hard, work hard. Swimming is her best chance at a college scholarship. It’s what her parents, her coaches, and even her best friend expect from her—and Tess can always deliver.

Until tragedy strikes. Tess has a seizure, and her world suddenly becomes one of doctor visits, missed practices, and a … Continue reading

Review: Gender Inequality in Sports: From Title IX to World Titles by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Gender Inequality in Sports by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Gender Inequality in Sports: From Title IX to World Titles
Kirstin Cronn-Mills
Twenty-first Century Books
Published April 5, 2022

Amazon | Bookshop | Goodreads

About Gender Inequality in Sports

“We trained just as hard and we have just as much love for our sport. We deserve to play just as much as any other athlete. . . . I am sick and tired of being treated like I am second rate. I plan on standing up for what is right and fighting for equality.” –Sage Ohlensehlen, Women’s Swim Team Captain at the University of Iowa

Forty years ago, US president Richard Nixon signed Title IX … Continue reading

Review: Blazewrath Games by Amparo Ortiz

Blazewrath Games by Amparo Oritz

Blazewrath Games
Amparo Ortiz
Page Street Kids
Published October 6, 2020

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indiebound | Goodreads

About Blazewrath Games

Lana Torres has always preferred dragons to people. In a few weeks, sixteen countries will compete in the Blazewrath World Cup, a tournament where dragons and their riders fight for glory in a dangerous relay. Lana longs to represent her native Puerto Rico in their first ever World Cup appearance, and when Puerto Rico’s Runner—the only player without a dragon steed—is kicked off the team, she’s given the chance.

But when she discovers … Continue reading